Databases offering alerts
- A-Z Databases ListA list of all of the databases available to the ISU community.
Search by subject, types, or vendor.
For help saving successful searches and setting up recurring alerts based on your search, contact your subject librarian.
- The databases below are set to open to ISU resources even when you are not on campus--the Central Login will prompt you to enter your information when off-campus.
- Setting up alerts:
- Look for link(s) to create a free account
- Sometimes the links to creating alerts are under the tabs/links to 'About' or 'Contact Us'
- Sometimes the links are merely symbols such as an envelope for email or the RSS feed
- Getting frustrated?
- Try the Databases by Vendor on the left side
- Academic Search CompleteA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
To create an alert:
1. Click on Sign In--located at the top of the web page.
2. Then Create an Account - ACM Digital LibraryA full text collection of computer science and technology sources published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, and books.
To create alerts and other services:
1. Click Sign Up found at the top-right of the web page. - AgricolaCitation database of agriculture-related journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
To create and alert:
1. Click on Sign In--located at the top of the web page.
2. Then Create an Account - Dissertations & ThesesTheses and dissertations covering multiple disciplines from over 1,000 accredited institutions. Some full text available.
To create an alert:
1. Click on the symbol of a person—located top right of the web page
2. Sign into My Research.
3. Create a My Research Account - Dissertations & Theses @ Illinois State UniversityTheses and dissertations covering multiple disciplines from Illinois State University. Some full text available.
To create an alert:
1. Click on the symbol of a person—located top right of the web page
2. Sign into My Research.
3. Create a My Research Account - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)Citation database about behavioral measurement instruments. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
To create an alert:
1. Click on Sign In--located at the top of the web page.
2. Then Create an Account - IEEE XploreComprehensive full text science and technology database and includes information from journals, conference proceedings, and technical standards.
To create an alert:
1. Click on Create Account--located in the blue bar at top of the web page. - JSTORMulti-disciplinary full text database of core scholarly journals.
To create and alert:
1. Click Register--located at the top right of the web page. - National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts DatabaseCitation database for criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse. Some full text available. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice.
To create an alert:
1. Find Subscribe--located at the very top of the web page.
2. Open the drop-down arrow and click Register
3. Register for either or both: JUSTINFO or the whole NCJRS site; this would include JUSTINFO. - Project EuclidFocused on theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics scholarship and includes journals, books, and conference proceedings. Some full text available.
To create an alert:
1. Click RSS symbol at the top right of the web page
2. Alternatively, click login and create an account. - Project Muse Premium CollectionFull text scholarly journal database focused on the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
To create an alert:
1.Click Tools--located at the top right of the web page
2. On the left-hand side, click Content Alerts
a. Select the type by frequency (how often) alerts are sent. - APA PsycInfoPremier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
To create and alert:
1. Click on Sign In--located at the top of the web page.
2. Then Create an Account - PubMedCitation database compiling scholarly research from all aspects of biomedicine such as biochemistry, molecular biology, bioengineering systems, biotechnology, cell and developmental biology, genetics, health informatics, human structure and function, immunology, microbiology, immunology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology.
To create an alert:
1. Click on the Sign In to NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information, National Library of Medicine (NLM))--located at the top right of the web page.
2. On the left-hand side, scroll down to Register for an NCBI account.
a. Notice on the right-hand side, links to help information to use PubMed--there are YouTubes etc. - SciFinder-nDatabase of scientific literature including article citations, patents, chemical substances, and chemical syntheses. Users are required to create a personal account. Limited to two simultaneous users.
- Web of ScienceAccess scholarly literature and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes unique search options like Cited Author and Cited Reference.
To create an alert:
1. Click on Sign In--located at the top right of the web page.
2. From the drop-down list, select Register
a. Once you have an account, lots of options under the Tools tab: you can save a search and then receive alerts based on the search(es).
Database Alerts: Benefits and Cautions
Benefits
- Subject (or topic), cited author from hundreds or thousands of journals
- New items matching a complex subject search
Cautions
- Slower than publisher alerts
- Usually require you to have ISU campus access
- Off campus users prompted for Central Login