Contemporary World Issues
- List of Contemporary World Issues booksThis is a list of books in Milner from the Contemporary World Issues book series.
Bullying: a Reference Handbook by
This volume explains how bullying became a problem in schools and what can be done about it. It also points readers to additional resources among the many that exist on the topic that will help them to fully understand it. Bullying: A Reference Handbook opens with a background and history of school bullying before diving into raging controversies over causes and solutions. It contains personal essays from experts in the field and profiles of empathy-building bullying prevention organizations and additionally includes data and documents, a chronological history of bullying, and resources for further research. Anyone interested in learning more about school bullying will come away with a clear understanding of the topic. This volume is the only resource on the issue of school bullying targeted for high school and college students as well as other serious researchers. With an emphasis on bullying prevention, including less well known but up-and-coming empathy-building programs, this book contributes ground-breaking material to help readers to learn about the scope of the problem as well as essential solutions that families and schools can practice in everyday life. * Provides readers with an understanding of school bullying and its many forms, including gay-bashing, slut-bashing, and other forms of gender policing * Suggests a number of remedies based on solid research that have effectively prevented school bullying * Explains the crucial relationship between school bullying and the increase in school shootings * Provides research about the role of self-esteem for those perceived as bullies as well as targets * Profiles effective programs that build empathy and prevent school bullying
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440855238Publication Date: 2019-12-05
Racism in America: a Reference Handbook by
This book explains how race, once a differentiating factor, became a major basis for stratification in America that pervaded scientific thought, religious doctrine, governmental policy, and the patterned actions of decision-makers in all sectors of social life. Racism in America: A Reference Handbook diverges from the typical focus of accounts of racism on interpersonal prejudice and discrimination to situate racism within structural processes to demonstrate the systematic nature of racial discrimination. Racial progress, though notable, has largely addressed symptoms of the racialized social system rather than tackling the ways in which the system is inherently patterned to benefit whites. This book provides evidence that racial discrimination is not an occasional decision made by individuals. The book provides readers with a background and history of race in America; a thorough treatment of the problems, controversies, and solutions related to race; a perspectives section including essays from experts in a variety of related fields; profiles of important people and organizations; and a section dedicated to data and documents. Its organizational strategy benefits the reader, first explaining core concepts and providing context for racism in America before moving into more specific applications in the work of relevant experts and providing directions for further study. * Provides readers with a structural analysis of how racism is embedded in the foundations of American society * Combines academic research on racism in America with perspectives from attorneys, activists, religious leaders, and others with experiences of institutional racism * Provides a sociologically grounded explanation of racism that demonstrates how racism in America was not arbitrary or solely interpersonal but rather planned, organized, and, at times, remarkably sophisticated in transferring power from racial minorities to whites * Includes a chronology of milestone events alongside resources for further study
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440856419Publication Date: 2020-02-24
Media, Journalism, and Fake News : a Reference Handbook by
This volume summarizes the evolution of news and information in the United States as it has been shaped by technology (penny press, radio, TV, cable, the internet) and form development (investigative journalism, tabloid TV, talk radio, social media). Media, Journalism, and "Fake News": A Reference Handbook provides readers with an overview of news and media in the United States. Additionally, the book discusses, additionally discussing the economic state of the news industry, partisan news, misinformation and disinformation, issues of representation, and the impact of social media. The volume starts with a background of the development of news and information in the United States. It then goes on to discuss significant problems, controversies, and solutions related to the topic. Readers also will be able to develop their understanding of the topic by reading profiles of key figures and organizations that contributed to the current news climate. A comprehensive list of resources will help readers decide where to go next should they want to learn more about a particular area of interest. * Provides readers with an overview of the development of news and information in the United States as an influential factor in a democracy, prompting readers to consider the importance of understanding this landscape * Summarizes how changes in technology have influenced the content and form of news and information distribution, highlighting for readers the relationship between technology and content * Points out the effects of different types of news and information -- from investigative journalism to disinformation spread via social media -- giving readers examples of the potential influence information might have on culture * Profiles key figures and organizations that contributed to the evolving news and information landscape, deepening readers' understanding of the depth and breadth of the landscape * Provides data about the current news and information landscape that captures elements of consumer engagement with a variety of news sources, providing readers with a broader understanding of how news and information is consumed and resonates with U.S. citizens
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440864070Publication Date: 2019-10-25
Gender Inequality by
Gender Inequality: A Reference Handbook discusses the role women have played throughout human history and play in the modern day, including both advances that have been made in the fight for equality and problems remaining to be solved. Gender Inequality: A Reference Handbook is divided into two parts. Chapters One and Two provide a historical background to the topic and a review of current issues and problems. The remaining chapters aid readers in continuing their own research on the topic, through an extended annotated bibliography, chronology, glossary, noteworthy individuals and organizations in the field, and important data and documents. This book covers the topic of gender inequality from the earliest pages of human history to the present day. It differs from other works in the field primarily because of the variety of resources provided, such as further reading, perspective essays on the topic, a historical timeline, and useful terms in the field. It is intended for readers of high school through the community college level, along with adult readers who may be interested in the topic. Provides readers with a history of the effects of patriarchy on women, one of the longest lasting and most consequential debates in human history Summarizes the status of gender inequality in the modern world, with regard to its presence and effects in a variety of aspects of human life Supplies abundant resources for further research on the topic by readers of all ages Rounds out the author's expertise through perspective essays, giving readers a diversity of viewpoints on the topic
Call Number: HQ1237 .N49 2019ISBN: 9781440872860Publication Date: 2019-10-25
