Guides: Current Issues, Hot Topics, & Controversies: Online Resources

Online Resources

This list of provides a variety of online resources that can provide multiple perspectives.

Databases

Points of View Reference Source
Diverse perspectives on current controversial issues and critical analyses of hundreds of topics.
CQ Researcher
Full text database providing reports on current, social, and controversial issues representing multi-faceted and opposing viewpoints. Reports include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, bibliography, graphics, photos, and short sidebar features.

Includes reports published from 1991 to present.
Newspaper Source Plus
Full text news articles from select US and international newspapers and news broadcasts transcripts.
Alternative Press Index

Citation database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from U. S. and international alternative, radical, and left publications covering topics related to socialism, revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays/lesbians. Limited to one user at a time.

Includes sources published from 1991 to present
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
Full text database provides access to key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and external resources related to gun regulation and legislation. Help documentation available here.

Statistics & Data

data.census.gov

Search U.S. Census data covering population, housing, industry, and business. Create visual geographical maps based on data retrieved.
Data.gov

This is the home of the United States federal government’s open data. There are over a third of a million datasets available from a wide variety of topics, such as agriculture, climate, energy, local government, maritime, ocean. The site includes data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
iPoll (Roper)
Statistics and data gathered from multiple surveys administered by organizations in the United States, Europe, Latin America, and Asia. Data includes opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. To download datasets, create a personal account.

Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere — from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and U.S. datasets available for immediate download.
Statistical Insight
Comprehensive statistics database including data from federal and state agencies, international intergovernmental organization, professional, business, and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.

Includes sources published from 1974 to present

Recommended Websites

Law Street Media
A law and policy media site that provide in-depth reporting on key issues of the day.
AllSides.com
AllSides is a public benefit corporation serving news consumers to expose people to information and ideas from all sides of the political spectrum so they can better understand the world — and each other.

Current Issues, Hot Topics, & Controversies

Online Resources

Databases

Statistics & Data

Recommended Websites

Additional Links