Finding Genre Examples in Milner - ENG 101a10 - Composition as Critical Inquiry - Guides at Milner Library, Illinois State University

Finding Genre Examples

There are a variety of ways to find examples of the genre types you may need to find and use for your writing projects.

Consult our help videos for using the catalog and Combined Search

Everything Search
Search across multiple databases and resources for articles, books, ebooks, multimedia, reports, and more.
Academic Search Ultimate
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
Nexis Uni
Full text database including United States and foreign news/newspapers, business information, company profiles, legal information, and reference sources. Also includes: news transcripts, federal cases, state cases, law reviews. 10 Minute Training Tips
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text multi-disciplinary database of reference books, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
America: History and Life
Citation database of journal articles about U.S. and Canadian history ranging from prehistoric to present times.
Includes sources published from 1882 to present

Primary Resources
This is a list of databases provide numerous examples of primary sources.
Vital Speeches of the Day
This resource provides full text examples of important speeches made throughout the decades.

Current Biography Illustrated
Biography database of full text biographies, obituaries, images, interviews, essays, and commentaries. Profiles include celebrities, politicians, business people, writers, actors, sports figures, artists, and scientists.
Includes sources published from 1940 to present
American National Biography
Full text biography database focused on deceased men and women who influenced America's history. Limited to five simultaneous users.
Oxford Music Online
Compilation of music reference sources and includes full text articles, musician biographies, and music-related definitions. Includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Limited to eight simultaneous users.
Contemporary Musicians
Full text biography database focused on musicians involved in rock, jazz, pop, rap, rhythm and blues, folk, New Age, country, gospel, and reggae.
Includes sources published from 1989 to present

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full text database providing essays from multiple perspectives about current, social, and controversial issues in a pro/con format. Also provides links to other related sources like journals, magazines, images, audio, video, and websites.
CQ Researcher
Full text database providing reports on current, social, and controversial issues representing multi-faceted and opposing viewpoints. Reports include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, bibliography, graphics, photos, and short sidebar features.
Includes reports published from 1991 to present.
CQ Press Library
Searchable compilation of reference sources focused on American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. All sources are published by CQ Press.

iPoll (Roper)
Statistics and data gathered from multiple surveys administered by organizations in the United States, Europe, Latin America, and Asia. Data includes opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. To download datasets, create a personal account.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere — from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and U.S. datasets available for immediate download.
Statistical Insight
Comprehensive statistics database including data from federal and state agencies, international intergovernmental organization, professional, business, and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.
Includes sources published from 1974 to present

There are a variety of ways to find audio / visual / media-based information.

Search Creative Commons
Search for images, music, and other media with copyright clearance.
Search for Infographics in Google
In this search example, the results brings back infographics related to food consumption.

Illinois State University History Digital Collection
Primary resource database focusing on Illinois State University's history and includes campus history books, proceedings of the first university governing board, and photographs of campus activities and buildings.