Help Videos

• Find an Article by Title
• Find an Article Not Appearing in Journal Articles Search
• Find an Article with a Reference (Citation Finder tool)
• Find an Article Using the LibKey / Find It feature

This video shows how to search for an article by title using the Advanced Articles Search tool.

Video Transcript

This video will show you how to find an article by title in Articles Search using the Expand Beyond Milner Library option.

Video Transcript

This video shows how to find an article if you already have the reference information found in a bibliography or reference list.

Video Transcript

This video shows how to use the LibKey link to find the full text version of an article online.

Video Transcript

Find an Article by Title

This video shows you how to find a journal article if you have the title.

From the Milner Library home page, go to the search box under Start Your Research.

Change the Everything drop down to Journal Articles

This option searches journal articles across multiple Milner databases.

Type in the article’s title.

Use quotation marks for an exact title word search.

Click the Search button.

Scroll through the results to see if the article is listed.

If it is, check the full text access options.

Look for Download PDF or Available Online.

Click the option you want.

For either option, select Milner Library and login via Central Login, if prompted.

If you have questions, use the Ask Us options on the library website to chat, text, email, or call, contact your subject librarian, or view our FAQs. Or, visit the Service Desk on Floor 2. We’re happy to help!

Find an Article Not Appearing in Journal Articles Search

This video shows you how to find an article when it isn’t in the Journal Articles search results.

By default, the Journal Articles search shows only articles with full text access in print or online through Milner Library.

If your article title does not appear in the results, toggle on Expand Beyond Milner Library.

This will broaden your search to include articles to which Milner Library does not have access.

Click the title of the article.

Scroll to the bottom of the page.

Click the Submit an interlibrary loan request link.

Choose Illinois State University.

If prompted log in via Central Login.

The request form should be prepopulated with the article’s information.

Fill out the remaining required fields and click the Submit Request button.

You will receive an email message when the article pdf is available for download.

If you have questions, use the Ask Us options on the library website to chat, text, email, or call, contact your subject librarian, or view our FAQs. Or, visit the Service Desk on Floor 2. We’re happy to help!

Find an Article with a Reference (Citation Finder tool)

This video shows you how to use the Citation Finder tool to find an article by the title, author, and other information

From the Library’s home page, click the Research button in the top navigation bar.

Scroll down to Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers and click the Citation Finder link.

Type in the information you have using the relevant fields.

For the best results, include as much information as possible.

Click the Submit button.

A record for the article will be displayed if the information matches an existing article.

Scroll down and look for the View Online section to see if we have online access to the article.

If available, click the database or journal publisher’s web site link.

If the article isn’t available, scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Submit an interlibrary loan request link.

If you have questions, use the Ask Us options on the library website to chat, text, email, or call, contact your subject librarian, or view our FAQs. Or, visit the Service Desk on Floor 2. We’re happy to help!

Find an Article using the LibKey / Find It feature

This video shows you how to find a full text article using the Milner Library LibKey/Find It feature.

You can use LibKey/Find It within most library databases.

If a full text option isn’t available in the search results, look for the Find It button or an option to check for full text.

Some databases will show this option in the search results

Other databases show this option in the individual article record.

When you click the link or button, it checks other databases for access to the full text article.

If the full text is available, you will see a LibKey page showing a direct link to the pdf, HTML, or the database

Click the link you want to view the article.

If article is not available, you will be redirected to the article record via the Library’s search interface.

Scroll to the bottom of the record and click the Submit an interlibrary loan request link

If you have questions, use the Ask Us options on the library website to chat, text, email, or call, contact your subject librarian, or view our FAQs. Or, visit the Service Desk on Floor 2. We’re happy to help!