Creating & Managing Accounts Tab
Create a Milner Library / I-Share Account
This video will show you how to create a Milner Library / I-Share account. This account will allow you to request books from our storage locations, renew books, or request items from over 80 Illinois Academic Libraries within the I-Share consortium and monitor these requests.
Renew Items/Look at My Account
This video will show you how to renew any items you have checked out or check the status of any I-Share requests you’ve made.
Find Course Reserves & Textbooks Tab
How to Find Textbooks
This video will show you how to find textbooks at Milner Library. Generally, the library is unable to purchase every textbook that is needed for all courses. However, you can always check to see if what you need might be available.
First, check through Milner’s Course Reserves to see if your professor might have a copy of the textbook on reserve.
If the book you are looking for is not on Course Reserves, you can check Milner’s catalog to see if it’s located elsewhere in the library.
If you cannot find the book in the local Milner catalog or if it is unavailable, the next step is to search the I-Share catalog, which will pull results from over 90 other libraries across Illinois.
How to Find Course Reserves
This video will show how to find course reserve items available through the Milner Library catalog. Course Reserve items available through the Milner Library catalog include books, ebooks, movies on VHS tape or DVD, streaming movies, and audio files.
Find Items in the Catalog Tab
Find a Book by Title
This video will show you how to find a book when you already know the title.
Find a Book by Author
This video will show youhow to find a book when you already know the author.
Find a Book by Subject
This video will show you how to find a book when you have a specific subject in mind.
Find a Print Journal by Title
This video will show you how to find a print copy of a journal or magazine when you already know the title. Print journals are not typically available for checkout, but you can scan articles from print journals for free using our scanner stations on Floors 2-6.
Find a Movie by Title
This video will show you how to look for movies by title in the Milner Library catalog.
Find a Movie by Subject
This video will show you how to look for movies by subject in Milner Library’s catalog.
Find a CD or Other Music Recording
This video will show you how to find CDs and other music recordings using Milner Library’s catalog.
Find a Music Score
This video will show you how to find Music Scores using Milner Library’s catalog.
Advanced Catalog Searching Tab
Set Search Limits in the Library Catalog
This video will show you how to use some of the limit options in Milner library’s catalog.
Using I-Share Tab
Create a Milner Library / I-Share account (See text under Creating Accounts Tab at the top of the screen)
Request a Book from an I-Share Library
This video will show you how to request a book from an I-Share library. I-Share is a consortium of more than 80 Illinois Academic Libraries, and you can borrow books from any of those libraries.
How to Search for a Book in I-Share when a Milner Library Catalog Search Fails
This video will show you how to search other Illinois libraries catalogs (I-Share) to find a book when your Milner catalog search shows Milner Library does not own the item.
Find Articles Tab
Use the Combined Search Box
This video will show how to search for many different types of resources using the Combined Search box on the Library's Home page.
This video will show you how to use the Advanced Articles Search tool to find an article when you know the title.
Find an Article When You Know the Title, Author, etc.
This video will show you how to find an article when you already know the title, author, and other information. First, it can be helpful to try going to the Articles search tab, clicking the Advanced Articles Search link, entering the title of the article in quotation marks in the search box, and changing the dropdown to Title to see if you can quickly locate your article that way, as shown in the Find an Article by Title help video. If you are unable to locate your article that way, then try our Citation Linker tool.
Find the Electronic Version of a Journal by Title
This video will show you how to determine if we have access to the electronic version of a particular journal.
Use the Find It Button For Full-Text Article in a Database
This video will show how to find the full text version of an article when it isn't available in the specific database you are searching.
Find Databases Tab
Find Databases by Title
This video will show you how to find a database when you know the title.
Find Databases By Subject
This video shows how to find one or more databases that have resources focused on a specific discipline or field of study. For some projects doing a search in a more focused database provides more relevant resources.
Find the Opposing Viewpoints Database
This video will show you how to search within the Opposing Viewpoints database.
Requesting Items from Storage Tab
Request a Book from Storage (Basement or North)
This video will show you how to request a book that is in Milner’s North Storage facility. Items in Milner Library’s storage facilities are not open to the public, so you will need to place a request to retrieve them. Storage Basement items are currently unavailable for request until 2020, due to the renovation of Floor 1.
Request a Print Journal from Storage (Basement or North)
This video will show you how to request a print journal that is in Milner’s North Storage facility. Journals located in Milner’s storage facilities must be requested online. Items in Milner’s Storage Basement are currently unavailable for request until 2020, due to the renovation of Floor 1.
You’ll receive an email when the journal is available for you to pick up at the Circulation Desk on your left as you enter the library.
Requesting a Print Journal from Storage (Classic Interface)
This video will show you how to request a print journal that is in Milner’s North Storage facility. Journals located in Milner’s storage facilities must be requested online. Items from Milner’s Storage Basement are currently unavailable for request until 2020, due to the renovation of Floor 1.
Placing an Interlibrary Loan Request Tab
Make an ILL Request using a Citation
This video will show you how to request an article or book via interlibrary loan when you have the citation. Note that, when you use our new interlibrary loan software, you no longer need to activate your account the first time you use it.
Make an ILL Request via Find It
This video will show you how to request an article directly from a database search if Milner Library does not subscribe to an electronic or print version. Note that, when you use our new interlibrary loan software, you no longer need to activate your account the first time you use it.
Teaching Materials Center (TMC) Help
Find TMC Books Using the Milner Library Catalog
In this video, I’m going to show you how to find children’s and young adult materials in the Teaching Materials Center.
The Teaching Materials Center, also called the TMC, is located on Floor 6 of Milner Library, and it is a unique collection of Pre K- grade 12 materials that are designed to help students who are in ISU’s teacher education program prepare for their careers as teachers. The TMC collection includes picture books, easy books, fiction, nonfiction, elementary, middle school level, and high school textbooks, and supporting materials in all subject areas. The TMC acts as a model school library collection for future educators, and it is arranged according to the Dewey Decimal System, much like a school library.
How to Find Bilingual Children's Books in the Teaching Materials Center
This video will show you how to find Bilingual children’s books in the Teaching Materials Center using Milner Library’s catalog.
Using NoveList Plus Tab
This video will show you how to use the database NoveList, which is a reader’s advisory tool to help you find books. It’s a great tool for education majors, or if you’re tutoring, or just for your own interests. I am just going to give you a quick overview to show you some of the main functions.
Be sure to watch other videos for more in depth search strategies on how to use NoveList.
NoveList Basic Title Search
This video will show you how to do a basic search for a known title using the database NoveList Plus.
NoveList Advanced Searching
This video will introduce you to advanced search features in NoveList Plus. The advanced search is great for finding books about a particular subject, or for fine-tuning your searches.
Determining Readability of a Text/Lexile Levels
Many books available at bookstores and libraries do not list their Lexile levels. This video will show you how to find the Lexile level for a book on NoveList Plus and use it to check if the book is in an appropriate grade range for the child you are working with.
How to Print from a Milner Library Computer Workstation
This video explains how to print from a computer workstation at Milner Library.
How to Print from a Windows Laptop at Milner Library
This video will show you how to download and install uPrint Pharos to your Windows laptop so that you can print from your Windows laptop at Milner Library, and many other uPrint locations across the ISU campus.
How to Print from a Mac Laptop at Milner Library
This video will show you how to download and install the University's printing software, and then show you the process of how to print.
How to Save Your Work Tab
How to Save Your Work in Microsoft Word on Library Computers
This video shows how to save your work in Microsoft Word on Library computers.
How to Save Your Work in Word on Office 365
This video shows how to save your work on Word in Office 365.
NOTE: After you rename your document, Office 365 will automatically save your document under the new title every time you modify it.
How to Print Tab
How to Print from a Milner Library Computer Workstation (ISU Students, Faculty, Staff)
This video explains how ISU students, faculty, and staff can print from a Milner Library computer workstation.
How to Print from a Laptop or Other Mobile Device (ISU Students, Faculty, Staff)
This video will show you how to print from your laptop, smartphone, or other mobile device from on or off campus. You no longer need to download the uPrint Pharos software to print from your laptop.
How to Print from a Milner Library Guest Computer Station (Visitors to ISU/Milner Library)
Illinois State University
Campus Box 8900
201 North School Street
Normal, Il 61790-8900