Guides: Family and Consumer Sciences: Fashion Design &amp; Merchandising

Suggested Databases

A to Z the World
Provides country and city culture guides providing a snapshot and profile including information about business, weather, education, food, history, holidays/festivals, language, national symbols, points of interest, and religion.

Look in these call number ranges for most books on Apparel & Merchandising

Call Number Range	Subject	Floor
BF 789.C6	Psychology of Clothing	3
GT 500-2370	Costume, Dress, Fashion	4
TP 892-932.5	Dyeing, Printing of Textiles, Laundry	5
TS 1300-1865	Textile Industries	5
TT 490-695	Clothing Manufacture	5

Interested in how long you can check out a book? View the list of loan periods Milner resources.

AAFA: American Apparel and Footwear Association
Provides textile/apparel statistics, events, legislation and trade information
Fashion Plate Collection
“This collection includes 417 fashion plates from 1806-1914 from some of the leading fashion journals of the times.”
Fashion Windows
Provides information on individual designers. Some records can only be accessed by those with a database membership which costs $4.95 a month. Features visual merchandising.
Firstview Collections Online
Resource for fashion design and merchandising.
Hearth
Click on the search option found on the left of your screen and you will be able to access the Hearth database which indexes books and journals published from 1850-1950. Many sources are available in full text.
Kent State University Museum's Gallery of Costumes
Covers fashion, including lingerie and hairstyles, from the 18th to the 20th century. The emphasis is on female dress from Europe and the United States but it also includes male and children’s fashions and dress from several other countries.
OTEXA: The Office of Textiles and Apparel (U.S. Dept. of Commerce)
This site features information on textile and apparel exports, imports, trade acts and agreements and legislation.
US Textile and Apparel Category System.
From OTEXA.