Style Guides / Citing
Citing / Source Managers
- Source Manager Comparison ChartThis comparison chart highlights features that most users seek in these types of tools. The list is not intended to be comprehensive.
- Source Manager Comparison Chart (pdf)This pdf chart provides a comparison of features in Zotero and EndNote Basic. The list includes the most common features users seek when selecting a source manager.
- Avoiding PlagiarismThis page provides the definition of plagiarism, tips for avoiding, and examples of plagiarism.
APA
- APA Style Help GuideA guide showing how to use the APA Style and examples of in-text citations and references for a variety of different sources.
- APA 7th edition Quick GuideProvides examples of common reference and in-text citing formats.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 (Reference Desk and Floor 3)Publication Date: 2019The 7th edition provides guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
A Quick Introduction to APA was developed by the Instruction and Student Engagement Department, Milner Library, Illinois State University
This video is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
MLA
- MLA Style Help GuideA guide showing how to use the MLA Style and examples of in-text citations and references for a variety of different sources.
MLA Handbook (8th edition) by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016 (Reference Desk)Publication Date: 2016The new edition, recommends one universal set of guidelines for writers to apply to any type of source. Provide instructions on how to use the new guidelines, how to cite, and create a works cited list.
Chicago
- Chicago Style Help GuideA guide showing how to use the Chicago Style and examples of note and in-text citations and references for a variety of different sources.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition by Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 2017Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online by Call Number: eBookA searchable and easy to use online guide - includes both the 16th and 17th editions.
Zotero
- Zotero.orgA free, open source software. A stand-alone application installed on your computer works in tandem with a browser add-on. It is compatible with Windows, macOS, Linux 32-bit, & Linux 64-bit. The word processor plug-in works with MS Word, OpenOffice, and LibreOffice. Consult our Zotero Help Guide.
EndNote Basic
- EndNote Basic Help GuideThis guide provides information on creating an account, adding source records, and using the Word plug-in, which streamlines adding in-text citations and references.
- EndNote BasicFree to to ISU students, faculty, and staff, is a web-based service similar to RefWorks. Compatible with most web-browsers. Word processor plug-in works with MS Word in Windows and Mac. The online platform can be paired with a desktop client you install on your computer, often referred to as just EndNote. ISU does not support the desktop version. Consult our EndNote Basic help guide for more information.