Traditional Publication Process
From McMaster University
Publishing Resources
- Cabell's JournalyticsDatabase of curated journals that provide high impact for the designated discipline. The whitelist includes contact information, manuscript and submission guidelines, and metrics such as acceptance rate. Cabell's also maintains a list of predatory journals.
- Journal Author Name Estimator (JANE)This web-based bibliometric application is a free resource that allows you to narrow down possible journals for your articles. Linked to MedLine, this resource allows authors to search by title, abstract, or keyword to find similar articles published in academic journals.
- Journal Citation ReportsFind journal information for evaluation and comparison of impact, rank, and importance in your designated field. Get key indicators like total cites, journal impact factor, and cited half-life as well as source data, rank, cited journal data, citing journal data, box plot, and journal relationships.
- Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory (was Ulrich's Periodicals Directory)Comprehensive database providing detailed information about various periodicals (e.g. journals, magazines, newspapers) such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Author Rights
- Author RightsInformation on author rights, publishing contracts, and more
- SHERPA/RoMEOGives information on publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of self-archiving permissions and conditions of rights given to authors on a journal-by-journal basis.
Open Access Publishing
- About Open AccessDefinition, different types, and repositories
- Directory of Open Access JournalsOnline directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- ISU ReD: Research and eDataIllinois State University's institutional repository supports open and long-term access to the research and scholarship of our faculty, staff, and students. It is comprised of articles, reports, electronic theses and dissertations, data sets, and other digital assets that reflects the diversity of the research, scholarship, and creative activities of the ISU community.
- PubMed CentralFree archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature
Samples
- Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport Reviewer GuidelinesThis Word document (.doc) consists of guidelines for people acting as peer reviewers for the Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport
- Sample Paper #1A sample paper in Word (.docx) for practice and discussion.
- Sample Paper #2Another sample paper in Word (.docx) for practice and discussion.
