Chapter 3: Constitutions, Statutes, Administrative Law, and Court Rules--Research and Analysis
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th edition:
"Laws passed by Congress or state legislatures are generally called acts or statutes. This body of law is commonly referred to as statutory law." (p. 53)
United States Statutes at Large (Stat.)
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th edition:
"At the end of each session of Congress, the slip laws are placed in chronological order (according to the date the law was passed) and published in volumes....Because the laws are in chronological order, it is difficult if not impossible to conduct research using the Statutes at Large." (p. 62)
print version:
- call number: AE 2.111: - located in the Government Documents section on floor 4
online edition:
United States Code (U.S.C.)
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th edition:
"[Organizes" all of the laws contained in the Statutes at Large by subject into 52 categories called titles, with each title covering a different area of law" (p. 62)
print version:
- call number: Y 1.2/5 - located in the Government Documents section on floor 4
online version:
United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.)
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th edition:
"[C]onsists of approximately 200 volumes and includes the General Index. In the front of each volume is the list of the 52 titles of the U.S.C... Each volume has a table of contents listing the chapters and features in the volume" (p. 63)
print version:
- unavailable
online version:
United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.)
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 3rd edition:
USCS "consists of approximately 150 volumes and contains the wording of the federal statutes published in Statutes at Large." (p. 68)
print version:
- unavailable
online version:
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th edition:
"Laws passed by Congress or state legislatures are generally called acts or statutes. This body of law is commonly referred to as statutory law." (p. 53)
Illinois Compiled Statutes (Ill.Comp.Stat.)
Official version of the statutes, without analysis.
print version:
- call number: KFI 1229 .I4403 - located on floor 4
online version:
Note: Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometime included in the database, BEFORE they take effect.
West's Smith-Hurd Illinois Compiled Statutes Annotated (Ill.Ann.Stat.)
Annotated version of the Statutes with analysis, such as legal commentary and explanation.
print version:
- call number: KFI 1230.5.W47 1992 - located on floor 4
online version:
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 3rd edition:
"The body of law that results from the rules and regulations and court opinions interpreting them is called administrative law." (p. 71)
Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th edition:
"The regulations of administrative agencies are codified in this multivolume, softbound set of books. The regulations are published in 50 titles, each of which represents a different subject area" (p. 72)
print version:
- AE 2.106/3:1/ - located in the Government Documents collection on the floor 4
online version:
- governmental version
- non-governmental version:
Federal Register (Fed. Reg.) - keep CFR up-to-date
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 3rd edition:
"[P]ublished daily by the United States Government Printing Office. All proposed new regulations, amended regulations, interim and final regulations are published....It also contains summaries of regulations, effective dates, notices of hearings on proposed regulations, and persons to contact for further information." (p. 77)
print version:
- unavailable
online version:
- governmental version
- non-governmental version:
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th edition:
"The body of law that results from the rules and regulations and court opinions interpreting them is called administrative law." (p. 72)
Administrative Code (Ill. Admin. Code)
print version:
- unavailable (no longer published)
online versions:
- governmental version: [Illinois] Joint Committee on Administrative Rules' Administrative Code
- non-governmental version: Westlaw
Illinois Register (Ill. Reg.) - keeps the Administrative Code up-to-date
print version
- unavailable
microforms version
- microfiche: v.1, no.15 (October 1977) to v. 25 (2001)
online version:
- governmental version: Illinois Secretary of State's Illinois Register (v. 26, issue 33 (2002) to present)
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th edition:
"Court rules regulate the conduct of matters brought before the court. They range in the subjects they cover from the technical, such as the format of pleadings, to the substantive, such as grounds for dismissal or when an appeal must be filed." (p. 75)
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (Fed. R. Civ. P.)
print version:
- United States Code, Title 28 Appendix
call number Y 1.2/5 - located in the Government Documents collection on floor 4
online version:
- governmental version: United States Courts' Federal Rules of Practice & Procedure
- non-governmental version: Westlaw
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure (Fed. R. Crim. P.)
print version:
- United States Code, Title 18 Part II
call number Y 1.2/5 - located in the Government Documents collection on floor 4
- Federal Criminal Code and Rules - West's version - call number KF9606 .U502 - located on floor 4
online version:
- governmental version: United States Courts' Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure (.pdf)
- non-governmental version: Westlaw
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th edition:
"Court rules regulate the conduct of matters brought before the court. They range in the subjects they cover from the technical, such as the format of pleadings, to the substantive, such as grounds for dismissal or when an appeal must be filed." (p. 75)
Illinois Court Rules and Procedures
"This set contains all the court rules governing state and federal practice in Illinois."
KeyRules "[p]rovide the practioner with a comprehensive "single source" procedural guide for civil practice in state courts, combining applicable provisions of both statewide and local rules of civil procedure with relevant analytical materials"
Volume I - State
Volume II - Federal
Volume IIA - Federal ("KeyRules")
Volume III - Circuit Courts
Volume IIIA - Circuit Courts ("KeyRules")
print version:
- call number: KFI 1729 .A194 - located in the reference collection on the main floor
online version:
Criminal Law and Procedure Handbook of Illinois
print version:
- call number: KFI 1761.A29 I429 - located in the reference collection on the main floor
online version:
- unavailable
Trial Handbook for Illinois Lawyers
print versions:
- Civil, volumes 1 and 2 - call number: KFI 1738.Z9 H78 1997 - located on the fourth floor
- Criminal, volumes 1 and 2 - call number: KFI 1738.Z9 H85 2002 - located on the fourth floor
- Criminal Sentencing - call number: KFI 1738.Z9 H82 2004 - located on the fourth floor
online versions:
