What's in the Guide
Hello! My name is Chad and I'm the Law Librarian.
I created this guide to help students enrolled in LGS 203: Legal Research I.
The guide is specifically designed to be used with the textbook, Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th ed. by William H. Putnam and Jennifer R. Albright.
All course textbooks are also available at Milner Library's Course Reserves for two-hour, in-building use. The 7th edition to the ALWD Guide to Legal Citation is also available online from the Library Catalog.
Guide content:
- Chapter 1, Part V: Legal Citation
- Chapter 3: Constitutions, Statutes, Administrative Law, Court Rules
- Chapter 4: Case Law
- Chapter 5: Secondary Authority and other Research Resources--Encyclopedias, Treatises, American Law Reports, Digests, Shepard's
- Chapter 6: Secondary Authority--Periodicals, Restatements, Uniform Laws, Dictionaries, Legislative History, and other
Law Databases
- HeinOnline AcademicFull text database focused on legal information from journals, federal laws, regulations, case law, reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and the U.S. State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS). Help documentation available here.
- Nexis UniFull text database including United States and foreign news/newspapers, business information, company profiles, legal information, and reference sources. Also includes: news transcripts, federal cases, state cases, law reviews. 10 Minute Training Tips
- WestlawFull text database of court cases, law review articles, legal statutes, court rules, proposed & adopted regulations, proposed & enacted legislation & administrative decisions, and guidances at the federal and state levels. (Help with database)
Related Guides
Data and Social Sciences Librarian
Chad Kahl
he / him / his