Consumer Trend Databases
These databases are useful for researching consumer attitudes, behaviors and trends.
- iPoll (Roper)Statistics and data gathered from multiple surveys administered by organizations in the United States, Europe, Latin America, and Asia. Data includes opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. To download datasets, create a personal account.
Business Accelerators & Incubators (National)
- Excelerate Labs (Chicago)Founded in 2010, the firm has graduated 20 firms, most notably Groupon.
- LaunchNowAn online game that lets you build a real a real life company from the ground up or improve your current company.
- Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR)A highly competitive program that encourages domestic small businesses to engage in Federal Research/Research and Development (R/R&D) that has the potential for commercialization.
- Small Business Technology Transfer (SBTT)Program that expands funding opportunities in the federal innovation research and development (R&D) arena by expanding of the public/private sector partnership to include the joint venture opportunities for small businesses and nonprofit research institutions.
- SXSW ConferenceThe SXSW Conference provides an opportunity for global professionals at every level to participate, network, and advance their careers.
- TechNexus (Chicago)Founded in 2007, the clubhouse where Chicago’s technology leaders gather.
- TechStarsHelps startups and other incubators alike.
Entrepreneurship Opportunities (Local)
- George R. and Martha Means Center for Entrepreneurial StudiesISU's local resource for entreprenership opportunities and consulting.
- ISU Startup ShowcaseISU's student startup competition.
Finance & Venture Funds
- Angel InvestorsAngel investor networks state-by-state.
- Small Business & Entrepreneurship Financing TrendsData from the Federal Reserve Banks of Atlanta and New York.
- Small Business LoansInformation on funding available from the Small Business Administration.
- vFinanceProvides links to sources of capital as well as planning aids for small businesses.
- Y CombinatorSince 2005 has funded 380 startups, including Reddit, Dropbox, and Airbnb.
- KickstarterA funding platform for creative projects.
Business Models / Plans
Blue Ocean Strategy by Call Number: HF5415.153 .K53 2005ISBN: 1591396190How to create uncontested market space and make the competition irrelevant.
Business Model Generation (eBook) by Call Number: HD30.28 .O77 2010ebISBN: 9780470901038A handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers.
Rework by Call Number: HD31 .F755 2010ISBN: 9780307463746Shows you a better, faster, easier way to succeed in business.
Right-Brain Business Plan (eBook) by Call Number: HD30.28 .L438 2011ISBN: 9781577319443A creative, visual map for success.
Seizing the White Space by Call Number: HD2756 .J64 2010ISBN: 9781422124819Business model innovation for growth and renewal.
Business Plans
- Business Plans / Small Business Development CenterScroll down the page for a set of sample business plans for a variety of company types.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibrarySearch here for a Business Plans Handbook. Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses.
Idea Generation
Books to help you develop the creative mindset that will enable you to generate compelling business and product / service concepts.
Disciplined Dreaming by Call Number: HD53 .L56 2011ISBN: 9780470922224A proven system to drive breakthrough creativity.
Thinkertoys by Call Number: HD53 .M53 2006ISBN: 1580087736A handbook of creative-thinking techniques.
Best Practices Are Stupid by Call Number: HD58.8 .S4775 2011ISBN: 978159184385640 ways to out-innovate the competition.
Little Bets by Call Number: HF5386 .S546 2011ISBN: 9781439170427How breakthrough ideas emerge from small discoveries.
Product & Service Innovations
- SpringwiseCheck out the "Ideas Database" for recent new products / service introductions.
- Business Source UltimateLink to thousands of product reviews that have appeared in a wide variety of trade & industry publications. Add keywords to the search entry box and narrow the results in the left side navigation to "Product Reviews."