Guides: Music Therapy: Journals

Music Therapy Journals

Here are some peer reviewed journals Milner has access to that are specifically dedicated to Music Therapy. Music Therapy also overlaps with psychology, education, and nursing/health science, so there are other tabs in this box with peer reviewed journals that Milner has access to from each of these fields that may contain articles related to Music Therapy.

Journal of Music Therapy This journal provides peer-reviewed articles about current music therapy research and theory for researchers, educators, and clinicians in music therapy.
Music Therapy Perspectives This journal contains peer-reviewed articles to promote music therapy clinical practice among music therapists, music therapy students and educators.
Canadian Journal of Music Therapy This journal provides peer-reviewed articles that promote international standards of music therapy knowledge and practice.
Nordic Journal of Music Therapy This journal contains peer-reviewed articles about music therapy in the contexts of health care, education, neuroscience, musicology, and societal change.
British Journal of Music Therapy This journal provides peer-reviewed articles geared towards music therapists and other professionals.
Australian Journal of Music Therapy This open access journal contains peer-reviewed articles focusing on empirical research and reports of clinical advances.
Approaches: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Music Therapy Peer reviewed open access journal covering diverse perspectives on music therapy practice, profession and discipline.
New Zealand Journal of Music Therapy Annual, online, open access journal for music therapists, students, and allied professionals interested in music therapy.
Voices: A World Forum for Music Therapy Open access peer-reviewed journal covering music, health, and social change.

Psychology Journals

Psychomusicology: Music, Mind & Brain Covers music perception, cognition and neuroscience.
Music Perception This journal contains articles relating to perception and cognition of music in composing, improvising, playing, performing, recalling, recognizing, teaching, learning and responding to music through single or multiple modalities.
Psyart A peer-reviewed, archived journal focused on psychological studies of the arts: literature, film, visual arts, or music.
Journal of Creativity in Mental Health A peer-reviewed journal that explores how creative, diverse, and relational therapeautic approaches can be used in counseling practice.

Education Journals

Music Educators' Journal This peer reviewed journal covers music teaching approaches and philosophies, instructional techniques, current trends and issues in music education in schools and communities and the latest in products and services.
Music Education Research A peer reviewed journal focusing on all aspects of music education.
Journal of Research in Music Education A peer reviewed journal covering aspects of music teaching and learning including music pedagogy, history, and philosophy, and addresses vocal, instrumental, and general music at all levels, from early childhood through adult.
International Journal of Music Edcuation A peer reviewed journal covering music teaching and learning at all age levels with issues of direct concern to the classroom or studio, in school and out, private and group instruction.

Nursing/Health Sciences

Alternative and Complimentary Therapies This journal provides peer-reviewed practical and evidence-based research articles with a focus on integrating alternative medical therapies and approaches into private practices and hospitals.
Complimentary Therapies in Medicine An international, peer-reviewed open access journal focusing on complimentary therapies.
Complimentary Therapies in Clinical Practice A peer-reviewed open access journal focusing on effective and professional integration of complementary therapies within clinical practice.
Journal of Alternative and Complimentary Medicine A peer reviewed journal focusing on evaluation and integration of complementary medicine into mainstream medical practice.Previously called Journal of alternative and complementary medicine.

Locating Journals

Milner Library has older issues of music therapy journals in print, and many current issues online. Search for journal titles using the library catalog. Journals that are available online will have one or more links under "Online Access" that you can use to view the full text of the journal.

If the library does not have the article you need, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request for the article, and it will be sent to you electronically from another library. This process can take 5 or more business days.

Music Therapy

Music Therapy Journals

Music Therapy Journals

Psychology Journals

Education Journals

Nursing/Health Sciences

Locating Journals

Additional Links