News Sources
- Newspaper Source PlusFull text news articles from select US and international newspapers and news broadcasts transcripts.
- Nexis UniFull text database including United States and foreign news/newspapers, business information, company profiles, legal information, and reference sources. Also includes: news transcripts, federal cases, state cases, law reviews. 10 Minute Training Tips
- New York Times (website)Access full text articles and premium content on the New York Times website. Users are required to create a personal account. If prompted verify your Illinois State University affiliation. Firefox or Safari are recommended for signup. Consult these step by step instructions for more help. [Access Historical New York Times]
- LA TimesClick the 'Nexis Uni' button on this page to search this publication. Last 6 months available.
- Wall Street JournalSearchable access to the publication through Business Source Complete.
- Washington PostSearchable access to current publication through Newspaper Source (search for Newspaper Source in Databases Tab), then search within Publications for Washington Post.
Nexis Uni
- Nexis UniFull text database including United States and foreign news/newspapers, business information, company profiles, legal information, and reference sources. Also includes: news transcripts, federal cases, state cases, law reviews. 10 Minute Training Tips
Searching Milner Catalog
Political Science Databases
- PAIS Index
Citation database focused on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations and includes journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, and conference papers. Some full text available.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citation database focused on political science, international relations, law, and public administration & policy.
- Alternative Press Index
Citation database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from U. S. and international alternative, radical, and left publications covering topics related to socialism, revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays/lesbians. Limited to one user at a time.
- ProQuest CongressionalCompilation of U.S. House and Senate publications from hearings, committees, and other documents. Includes full text to the US Serial Set. (Help with database)
- Congress.govCongress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
WGS Databases
- Contemporary Women's IssuesFull text database focused on world-wide critical issues and events that influence women's lives and includes information from journals, newsletters, and research reports produced by non-profit groups and government and international agencies.
- Women and Social Movements in the US (Scholar's Edition)An archival collection, focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, includes full-text documents, reviews of books and websites, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
- SocINDEXFull text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
Data & Social Sciences Librarian
Chad Kahl
he / him / his
