Introduction
What's on This Page:
This page is meant to help you find scholarly research to help you determine the greater context surrounding your topic. The first box will help you find scholarly articles and the second will help you find books.
Political Science Databases - Academic Articles
List of Databases:
The links below will take you to databases that collect scholarly articles on specific topics. These will help you find academic research to give a broader context to your policy. Look over the list to find a database that seems helpful and use it to search for content. If you need help, I've included two videos that walk you through the basics of searching. One video will show you how to use an EBSCO database and the other will show you how to use a Proquest database. All of the listed databases are owned by one or the other. The search techniques are mainly the same, no matter the content.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citation database focused on political science, international relations, law, and public administration & policy.
- PAIS IndexCitation database focused on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations and includes journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, and conference papers. Some full text available.
- SocINDEXFull text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
- GenderWatchFull text interdisciplinary database including articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
EBSCO Databases
Proquest Walkthrough
MIlner Catalog - Finding Books
The link below takes you to Milner's catalog to help you find books on your chosen topic. If you need help navigating the catalog, check out the video below.
- Milner Catalog Advanced SearchSearch for books, media, music scores, dvds, and other materials
Library Catalog Overview was created by the Instruction and Student Engagement Department, Milner Library, Illinois State University.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
You can also view the video at https://www.screencast.com/t/DgxAqdUewv
