What's on this Page
Source Management tools allow the user to collect, organize, and retrieve citation information from different resources. These tools will also create bibliographies for you in a variety of citation styles. There are several options to choose from for you to use. The box below compares three of those tools that Milner librarians suggest.
Tools to Manage Sources, Create Reference Lists, and Insert In-text Citations
Source Manager Comparison Chart
This comparison chart highlights features that most users seek in these types of tools. The list is not intended to be comprehensive. For a printer friendly version of the chart download the pdf file. Below the chart there are additional source managers you may want to investigate.
- Source Manager Comparison Chart (pdf)This pdf chart provides a comparison of features in Zotero and EndNote Basic. The list includes the most common features users seek when selecting a source manager.
|
|
|
|
|
Time to Learn |
30 minutes |
30 minutes |
|
Help Guides |
||
|
Strengths |
Open source; robust features on both desktop and web | Direct export from most library databases |
|
Weaknesses |
Smaller storage space for free account |
ISU does not support desktop version; not available if no longer associated with ISU |
|
Cost |
Free |
Free to all ISU |
|
Can access after leaving Illinois State |
X |
|
|
Browser tool to save sources from web |
X |
X |
|
Share with others / Create groups |
X |
X |
|
Create folders to organize content |
X |
X |
|
Create subfolders |
X |
|
|
Good for a scholarly content |
X |
X |
|
Easy to add diverse source types |
X |
|
|
Create bibliographies in specific styles / journal formatting |
X |
X |
|
Tool for adding in-text citations into a word processor document |
MS Word (Windows/MacOS) |
MS Word (Windows/MacOS) |
|
Assign keywords/tags to improve searchability |
X |
X |
|
Attach / Store PDFs |
X |
X |
|
Attach / Store other file types |
X |
X |
|
Annotate PDFs |
X |
|
|
Compatible with all major browsers |
X |
X |
|
Compatible with multiple operating systems |
X |
X |
|
Storage capacity |
300MB; $ for more |
2GB; 5GB for $ |
More Source Managers
Looking for alternatives? Here is a list of other source managers you may like to explore.
Wikipeda provides a great comparison chart of source management software.
Short descriptions of our recommended source managers. Consult the help guides to learn more about each tool. Consult the comparison chart to determine which one best suits your needs or download a the printer friendly version of the chart.
- Source Manager Comparison Chart (pdf)This pdf chart provides a comparison of features in Zotero and EndNote Basic. The list includes the most common features users seek when selecting a source manager.
- Zotero.orgA free, open source software. A stand-alone application installed on your computer works in tandem with a browser add-on. It is compatible with Windows, macOS, Linux 32-bit, & Linux 64-bit. The word processor plug-in works with MS Word, OpenOffice, and LibreOffice. Consult our Zotero Help Guide.
- EndNote BasicFree to to ISU students, faculty, and staff, is a web-based service similar to RefWorks. Compatible with most web-browsers. Word processor plug-in works with MS Word in Windows and Mac. The online platform can be paired with a desktop client you install on your computer, often referred to as just EndNote. ISU does not support the desktop version. Consult our EndNote Basic help guide for more information.
More Source Managers
Looking for alternatives? Here is a list of other source managers you may like to explore.
Wikipeda provides a great comparison chart of source management software
Reference generators (also called citation generators) are handy tools to quickly create a preformatted reference for one or two sources. Usually you need to copy & paste content into a form. Most generators do not save the information entered into the form.
- ZoteroBibBuild a bibliography instantly from any computer or device by pasting the URL, ISBN, DOI, PMID, arXiv ID, or title into the provided search box.
- Citation MachineCitation Machine is a free site with a form to enter a source's content and then it automatically produces a formatted reference in the chosen style (MLA, APA, Turabian, or Chicago). It does not create full bibliographies. Users can copy and paste the formatted reference into Word. Also provides a Grammar and Plagiarism checker. Originally developed by educator David Warlick and is now owned by Chegg Services.
- KnightCiteKnightCite is a free site that provides a form to input a source's information. It automatically produces a formatted reference in the selected style (MLA, APA, or Chicago). The form includes options for 25 types of sources. From the Hekman Library at Calvin College.
Types of Sources (video)
Types of Sources video developed by Instruction and Student Engagement Department, Milner Library, Illinois State University
This video is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
You can also view the video here: https://www.screencast.com/t/9XiEwXwl6Q0b
|
When evaluating an information source, keep in mind these general criteria and questions: reliability: Are the facts accurate? credibility: Is the author an authority on the topic? perspective: Is the source written as an opinion or does it use other sources as evidence? purpose: Does this material inform, explain, persuade? |