Top Resources
When building a text set, many of the resources you will include you will likely find online. While you can always Google, below are some recommendation locations where many education-related materials are located. Many of them are searchable by subject and grade.
- Kanopy VideoMulti-disciplinary streaming video platform including educational videos and feature films with a focus on race and gender studies, communication, education, sociology, psychology, health sciences, and the arts.
- TeachingBooks.netIncludes 88,000+ engaging digital resources, such as lessons, book readings, and video, curated to enrich K12 literacy instruction.
- DPLA Primary Source SetsThe Digital Public Library of America provides curated primary source sets based on given topics or themes. Many of them are tied specifically to historical events or as context for common books.
- PBS LearningMedia™"PBS LearningMedia™ is the go-to destination for instant access to tens of thousands of classroom-ready, digital resources including videos, games, audio clips, photos, lesson plans, and more! You can search, save, and share with ease. Best of all, PBS LearningMedia is free for educators." [from the site's homepage]
- Smithsonian Learning LabMillions of Smithsonian digital images, recordings, texts, and videos in history, art and culture, and the sciences and thousands of examples of resources organized and structured for teaching and learning by educators and subject experts. [From site]
Other Online Resources
- LIbrary of Congress - Classroom MaterialsThe Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.[From site]
- ARTStorAn image database--includes a gallery of images pertaining to graphic design and illustration.
- PBS Newshour Extra [for Educators]Geared for Grades 7-12, this site supplements current events that are reported on the PBS Newshour nightly broadcast. Includes lesson plans, correlation to subject areas, videos and a section titled "Student Voices"
- JoVE: Science Education UnlimitedStreaming video platform includes easy-to-understand demonstrations of methods and techniques for studying the practice and theory of scientific experiments.
- My PlateThis government website provides practical information to laypeople as well as health professionals and educators to assist individuals of all ages make good nutritional decisions about what they eat.
You can discover more possible online resources through the links on Teacher's Websites. Remember, you can also explore Ted Talks, Podcasts, YouTube videos, social media platforms, blogs, and more.
