Scholarly Articles - THE 370 - History of the Cinema - Guides at Milner Library, Illinois State University

Film-Specific Databases

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Full text journal articles related to film and television.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA)
Digital archive of US and UK trade magazines, film fan magazines, and music press titles providing comprehensive information on specific films, plays, theaters, actors, directors, TV series, film studios, musicians, genres, record labels, subcultures and youth movements.

Additional topics: movies, cinema, entertainment, vaudeville, silent movies

JSTOR
Full text multi-disciplinary database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources encompassing area studies, arts, business, economics, history, humanities, law, medicine, allied health, science, mathematics, and social sciences. Search Help for Students
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Full text literary criticism and critical essays on novelists, poets, playwrights, and other creative and nonfiction writers from the mid-twentieth century to present day.

Includes volumes published from vol. 1, 1973 to present
GenderWatch

Full text interdisciplinary database including articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
Archival material dates back to 1970 and includes authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. The combination of academic, gray, and popular titles encompasses:
- Women's studies
- Men's studies
- Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender (GLBT) studies
- Family studies
- Evolution of the women's movement
- Transgender community
- Changes in gender roles
- Femininity
- Gender differences
- Gender equity
- Gender identity
- Gender studies
- Masculinity

Types of Articles
Compare differences between scholarly, trade, popular, and news articles.
Find a Full Text Article with LibKey
This video shows how to use the LibKey link from within a database to determine if the full text article is available online.
How to Make an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Requests

Look for clues on the source's information page (record) such as: abstract; subject headings; journal title - all can point to primary subject matter
Check the date. Is this outdated relative to the topic? Has anything been written more recently?
If unsure about the author, run a quick Google search to learn more about them
When reading, start with the introduction and conclusion to further determine usefulness
If a source doesn't fit your topic you don't have to use it