It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This resource guide is primarily intended to provide links to "core" fee-based and free interactive databases and data sets. Please consider this guide a work in progress. Your suggestions for favorite data sets will be considered for inclusion in this guide. Please compile links to your favorites and email them to me at email@example.com.
NOTE: This site replaces an earlier site titled: "Statistical Sources for Business."
Business / Economics Dataset & Statistics Collections (Milner)
Includes access to authoritative, harmonized global statistical databases providing datasets concerning all aspects of international and domestic finance, with historic data to 1948. Available data includes: direction of trade, balance of payments, government finance statistics, coordinated direct / portfolio investments, financial access survey, financial soundness indicators and international reserves data.
Contains results from half a million survey questions asked in the US and abroad over the last 65 years by more than 150 survey organizations; useful for students of advertising & marketing research. Includes survey instruments, topline reports and downloadable datasets. A personal account must be created in order to download datasets.
Provides ability to access COMPUSTAT analytics and generate reports that include financials and ratios for individual companies, or comparative financials & ratios for top companies in an industry group.
Create visual, thematic geographical maps and custom reports using 100,000+ data variables. Limited to two simultaneous users. Sign in as a guest or create an account (with a unique username and password).
View data by state, congressional district, city, county, ZIP Code, census tract, or block group with data that includes population, age, gender, race & ethnicity, income, education, jobs & employment, poverty, language, ancestry, family types, marital status, vehicles, transportation, household & housing, market segments, consumer behavior, health, technology, finance, retail, business locations, and crime. It also includes the D&B business points-of-interest file and marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI) and Simmons Research with information on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories including consumer behavior, attitudes, health, technology, finance and retail data. Experian MOSAIC consumer lifestyle segmentation and Nielsen PRIZM is also available with the most comprehensive and precise insights using demographics and consumer lifestyle data.
Business / Economics Dataset & Statistics Collections (FREE)