Databases
To search multiple databases at the same time, click on the "Articles" tab on the Milner website.
The sources listed below are good places to begin your research.
1. Historical Abstracts.
The major index to articles from history journals on world history.
Full text of backfiles of journals in the fields of history, sociology, education, anthropology, area studies, etc.
Does not include latest years of journals.
3. PAIS International.
Public Affairs Information Service indexes books, journals, conference papers, etc. on political and social issues.
4. Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Covers journals in political science, international relations, law and public administration/public policy.
5. Academic Search Complete.
General database with coverage of many social science and humanities areas.
6. Dissertations and Theses.
Theses and dissertations covering multiple disciplines; some dissertations are in full text.
To Locate Journal Articles:
The Find It link is available in most databases.
Click on this link to access the full text of journal articles and to search for a journal in the Online Catalog.
If you have a complete citation for an article, use the Citation Finder.
Type in the journal title, year, volume and starting page, and click on Find It.
To determine if a specific journal is available online through Milner Library, go to
Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers:
Search for publications available online.
Type in the title of your journal and press Enter.
Course Guide
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.