FBIS/JPRS
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) began in 1941 as the Foreign Broadcast Monitoring Service (later the Foreign Broadcast Intelligence Service). It became part of the CIA in 1947. Its purpose was to provide translations of radio broadcasts in selected foreign countries. FBIS also encompassed the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) which translated foreign language print media. In 1995, JPRS translations were merged with FBIS Daily Reports and became the Open Source Center (OSC) within the CIA in 2005. The CIA discontinued public access to OSC in 2013.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service history. Part I, 1941-1947
- Defense Technical Information Center
- Internet Archive
Government Documents holds a collection of FBIS and JPRS reports on microfiche and CD-ROM covering the 1970s through the 1990s. For reports dated 1974-1996, you may use the print Indexes located on floor 4 above the documents microfiche cabinets (PREX 7.13x:). Please contact the government documents librarian for assistance.
CIA Electronic Reading Room
- CIA Electronic Reading RoomThe FOIA Electronic Reading Room is provided as a public service by the Office of the Chief Information Officer's Information Management Services. Here you can view documents released through the FOIA and other CIA release programs. Coverage varies by collection.
Declassified and Freedom of Information Act State Department documents
- Freedom of Information ActThe Department of State administers information access programs including the Freedom of Information Act, the Privacy Act, and the Mandatory Declassification Review programs. This website offers access to the Department’s records, as well as a search tool containing over 200,000 searchable documents reviewed and released to the public. Coverage varies by collection.
Declassified and Freedom of Information Act Justice Department/FBI ddocuments
- FBI The Vault FOIA LibraryThe FOIA Library contains 6,700 digitized declassified documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Coverage: varies by collection.
Declassified National Security Agency documents
- NSA Declassified DocumentsNSA declassified and released to the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) over 50 000 pages of historic records. Search by keyword or browse by index.
