Engineering

Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering

Oxford Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering

This new dictionary covers all aspects of mechanical engineering, including thermodynamics, heat transfer, combustion, stress analysis, design, manufacturing, materials mechanics, dynamics, vibrations, and control. It provides authoritative guidance for students, practising engineers, and others needing definitions of mechanical engineering terms.

Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary

The Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary provides researchers, working engineers, students, and those in related disciplines with the definitions of all the terms and acronyms used in today's electrical and electronics literature. This comprehensive resource saves time by presenting the desired information in the place it is first looked up - and in a straightforward manner that allows this content to be more readily assimilated." "Utilizing information drawn from textbooks, handbooks, treatises, instruction manuals, theses, articles, reports, and Usenet postings, the Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary is the most complete dictionary covering the entire field of electrical and electronics engineering."

Oxford Dictionary of Chemical Engineering

This new dictionary provides a quick and authoritative point of reference for chemical engineering, covering areas such as materials, energy balances, reactions, and separations. It also includes relevant terms from the areas of chemistry, physics, mathematics, and biology.

Oxford Dictionary of Electronics and Electrical Engineering

This popular dictionary has been extensively revised and updated, providing more than 5200 clear, concise, and jargon-free A-Z entries on key terms, theories, and practices in the areas of electronics and electrical science. Topics covered include circuits, power, systems, magnetic devices, control theory, communications, signal processing, and telecommunications, together with coverage of applications areas such as image processing, storage, and electronic materials.

Materials for the 21st Century

What does cotton candy, which dissolves at the touch, have in common with Kevlar, used for bullet-proof vests? How can our understanding of such materials help us to tackle essential problems of the 21st century? Materials play a key role in our search for solutions to many pressing issues. They underpin many industries, are critical for the development of consumer goods, are essential components of medical diagnostic techniques, offer hope for the treatment of currently incurable diseases, and provide answers to environmental problems. This handbook is a guide to the materials we rely on for the future. Materials for the 21st Century serves as a useful resource for undergraduate and high school students preparing for a career in physical sciences, life sciences,or engineering, by helping them to identify new areas of interest. It is also an excellent reference for readers interested in learning more about the diverse range of materials that underlie key aspects of our economy and everyday lives.

Encyclopedia of Engineering

Encyclopedia of Engineering aims at providing a collection of entries concerning several fields of Engineering Sciences. The reprint provides a historical overview, starting from the investigation of Mechanics and Science in Ancient Greece and showing their evolution over time. The topical collection focuses on Civil, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering providing basic concepts as well as novel trends in modeling, design and construction of engineering systems, structures, and materials. Special attention is also given to the recent developments and achievements in the framework of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology.

Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource

This work considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education, including new analytical and interpretive essays on events, scholarship, people, and legal decisions.

Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society: Engineering, Technology, and Medicine

Covers mathematics as applied in engineering, technology, and medicine in such activities as bridge design, city planning, and roller coasters and video games.

Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Society

Labeled either as the "next industrial revolution" or as just "hype," nanoscience and nanotechnologies are controversial, touted by some as the likely engines of spectacular transformation of human societies and even human bodies, and by others as conceptually flawed. These challenges make an encyclopedia of nanoscience and society an absolute necessity. Providing a guide to what these understandings and challenges are about, the Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Society offers accessible descriptions of some of the key technical achievements of nanoscience along with its history and prospects. Rather than a technical primer, this encyclopedia instead focuses on the efforts of governments around the world to fund nanoscience research and to tap its potential for economic development as well as to assess how best to regulate a new technology for the environmental, occupational, and consumer health and safety issues related to the field. Contributions examine and analyze the cultural significance of nanoscience and nanotechnologies and describe some of the organizations, and their products, that promise to make nanotechnologies a critical part of the global economy. Written by noted scholars and practitioners from around the globe, these two volumes offer nearly 500 entries describing the societal aspects of nanoscience and nanotechnology.

McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Engineering

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics

Full text online version of the classic handbook of scientific reference data. Includes physical constants, conversion factors, symbols, nomenclature, chemical properties, and mathematical tables.

How Things Work

How Things Work uses familiar objects to introduce basic physics concepts, demonstrating the excitement and relevance to professionals in a variety of technical fields. Because its structure is defined by real-life examples, this book explores concepts as they're needed and then revisits them later on when they reappear in other objects. It integrates case studies throughout the chapters to easily convey an understanding and appreciation for physics. For example, discussions of skating, falling balls, and bumper cars are included to explain the Laws of Motion. Air conditioners and automobiles are used to explore thermodynamics. Engineers, architects, and professionals in other technical fields will benefit from the material that connects science to our everyday world.

CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables

"The most important tables from every engineering discipline in one volume collected from the best, most authoritative references in the business - it's now more than wishful thinking. CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables makes it a reality. The most frequently consulted tables and figures from CRC's acclaimed engineering handbooks and other valued references are gathered together to provide a one-stop resource for the data that engineers around the world rely upon." "Organized by engineering specialty and extensively indexed, this handbook is designed for fast, convenient access and is one reference you'll want to keep close at hand throughout your career."

The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering

This second edition of The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering covers every important aspect of the subject in one single volume. It provides a reference for the practicing engineer in industry, government, and academia, with relevant background and up-to-date information on the most important topics of modern mechanical engineering. These topics include modern manufacturing and design, robotics, computer engineering, environmental engineering, economics and project management, patent law, bioengineering, and communication and information systems. The final chapter and appendix provide information regarding physical properties and mathematical and computational methods.