Using Reference Sources
What is a Reference Source?
The video below gives a quick overview of what references sources are and why they might be useful for research.
Reference Works
List of Databases:
This is a list of Milner's databases that collect electronic reference sources. The subsequent tabs list specific reference titles that relate to economic topics.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFull text multi-disciplinary database of reference books, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium CollectionMulti-disciplinary compilation of reference sources and includes full text articles, definitions, and quotations. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- Sage KnowledgeIncludes ebooks and video covering all aspects of the social sciences such as education, media, communication, cultural studies, counseling, psychotherapy, business, management, politics, international relations, psychology, sociology, criminology, and criminal justice.
- CQ ResearcherFull text database providing reports on current, social, and controversial issues representing multi-faceted and opposing viewpoints. Reports include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, bibliography, graphics, photos, and short sidebar features.
- CQ Press LibrarySearchable compilation of reference sources focused on American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. All sources are published by CQ Press.
Online
Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy by
Written by an international team of contributors, this comprehensive reference includes more than 300 up-to-date entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development. These topics include concepts and principles, models and theory, institutions and agreements, policies and instruments, analysis and tools, and sectors and special issues. Each entry includes cross-references and a list of sources for further reading and research. Complete with an index and a table of contents that groups entries by topic, The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy is an essential resource for anyone who needs to better understand the global economy.
Call Number: Digital ResourceISBN: 9780691128122
Economist Guide to Economic Indicators by Call Number: HA29 .E28 2007ISBN: 9781576602409Making sense of economics.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies by Call Number: HC15 .W675 2002ISBN: 07876495544-volume set.
Brief History of Economics by Call Number: HB75 .C367 2001ISBN: 9810238487Artful approaches to the dismal science.
Encyclopedia of the Age of the Industrial Revolution by Call Number: HD2324 .E545 2007ISBN: 031333501X2-volume set.- Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy by
Written by an international team of contributors, this comprehensive reference includes more than 300 up-to-date entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development. These topics include concepts and principles, models and theory, institutions and agreements, policies and instruments, analysis and tools, and sectors and special issues. Each entry includes cross-references and a list of sources for further reading and research. Complete with an index and a table of contents that groups entries by topic, The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy is an essential resource for anyone who needs to better understand the global economy.
Call Number: Digital ResourceISBN: 9780691128122
Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy by Call Number: HF1359 .R68 2001ISBN: 97804152435063-volume set.
Social Sciences Librarian
Grace Allbaugh
Contact:
Milner Room 415
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.
(309) 438-5313