Welcome to the Economics Research Guide
Hello! My name is Chad Kahl, the Economics Librarian at Milner. This guide is meant to point researchers in the direction of commonly-used economic resources available at Illinois State University. It should hopefully get you started with your work, but isn't necessarily comprehensive. Feel free to contact me, or use the Ask a Milner Librarian box, if you have questions.
Table of Contents
The guide is broken up into these sections:
- Recommended ResourcesIncludes links to top economic databases and individual journals. Sub-pages list reference sources for economic topics, statistical sources, and resources for faculty.
- How To...Provides detailed pages for help using economic databases to find articles, evaluating those articles for credibility and relevance, and finding multimedia sources. Another page will help find books on economics.
- Store and Organize SourcesDetails different options for organizing resources. Sub-pages also provide walkthroughs for creating annotated bibliographies and literature reviews.
- Useful LinksOther links that may help with individual research projects.
Economics Course Guides
Check out these guides created for specific classes. These guides include specific content to help with assignments, projects, and and other requirements associated with that course.
Other Helpful Guides
This list includes other guides that cover useful content on other topics relevant to research and scholarship at Illinois State University:
- APA Style Help GuideA guide showing how to use the APA Style and examples of in-text citations and references for a variety of different sources.
- Accounting Subject GuideResource guide for ISU accounting students and faculty.
- Business Subject GuideServices provided by Milner's librarian for accounting, economics, finance, insurance, international business, management, marketing and technology.
- Company Information web guideSources for finding background information and financial data on domestic and foreign companies.
- Data for Business & Economics GuideDatasets and aggregators with content pertaining to business and economics
- Evaluating Resources GuideLearn what questions to ask and some strategies to apply for determining if your source is or isn't appropriate for your project.
- Finance, Insurance, and Law GuideSubject Guide for finance, insurance, and law.
- International Business GuideGuide collecting resources for international business research.
- Law and Legal Studies GuideSubject guide for Law and Legal studies.
- Politics & Government Subject GuideSubject Guide for the Politics & Government Department
- Political Risk Yearbook GuidePolitical risk forecasting yearbooks with "country-specific regime scenarios, highly valued for future planning and used to calculate ratings of turmoil risk as well as ratings for the risks to financial transfers, export markets, and direct investments."
- Systemic Racism GuideLink to topic guide on systemic racism and anti-racism movements.
- LGBTQIA+ Resources GuideLink to topic guide on LGBTQIA+ issues.
- All Help VideosThis page includes every general help video put out by Milner Library. If you have questions that aren't answered by this guide, check this link out to see if there is a video!
- PAIS IndexCitation database focused on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations and includes journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, and conference papers. Some full text available.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citation database focused on political science, international relations, law, and public administration & policy.
Data and Social Sciences Librarian
