Researching at Milner Library
Hello. My name is Grace Allbaugh I’m the librarian for Sociology. If you have any questions, please contact me.
This guide can help you with:
- Getting started with the research process
- Identifying databases specific to Sociology
- Techniques for finding subject specific sources such books, articles, etc.
- Linking to a course specific guide
Conducting research is an iterative process. For more information about how to conduct research, consult the An Overview: The Research Process web guide.
The following steps are helpful in beginning your research in History.
1. For background information on your topic, consult a reference source such as: 21st Century Sociology: a reference handbook or
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology.
2. Check the list of sources or bibliography in your textbooks.
3. Search for books in your topic in the Milner Library Online Catalog.
4. Search for articles in Sociology databases, such as:
- SocINDEXFull text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
- Sociological Abstracts (SocAbs)Citation database covering all aspects of sociology and related disciplines and includes journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- Understanding Call NumbersFind books on the shelves more quickly with this quick overview of how to read Library of Congress call numbers.
- Citing SourcesLearn more about why we cite the sources we use, how to cite sources in a specific style, and strategies for avoiding plagiarism.
- Determine Credibility (Evaluating)Criteria and examples of how to evaluate a source to determine relevance and credibility.
- Help Videos for Using MilnerA suite of short step-by-step videos showing you how to use the various resources available in Milner Library.
Grace Allbaugh
Contact:
Milner Room 415
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.
(309) 438-5313