History

A database of full text primary source documents such as serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and multi-medium visuals. The focus is on issues that intersect gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century.

Combined search over African American Newspapers (1827-1998), Early American Newspapers Series 13 (The American West, 1803-1916) and Series 18 (Racial Awakening in the Northeast, 1825-1879). Digitized full text historic databases covering a century and half of the African American experience in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement; society, business, scientific advances, investigative journalism, and human-interest stories in the American West (24 states west of the Mississippi River); and vivid accounts of people, organizations, and political cultures in mid-19th century New England during a critical time of racial awakening and social justice.

Multi-disciplinary full text database for historic American magazines and professional publications from 1741-1900.

Full text database of the historic African-American newspaper. Includes the Chicago Daily Defender, the Daily Defender and weekend editions of the newspapers. Includes sources published from July 1909-2010

Full text historic database of the Chicago Tribune newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1849-2012; new year added annually.

Full text news publication of English translated Russian content focusing on a wide range of Soviet Union and Russian issues. Considered the leading primary source in the field of Soviet/Russian area studies.

Full text translated transcripts from radio broadcasts, interviews, etc. from around the world. Covers topics related to World War II, the Korean and Vietnam Wars, the Cold War, de-colonialism in Africa, and new Islamic countries that highlight geopolitics, global relations, political science and history, regional studies, foreign intelligence, and more.

Full text database of the historic American news magazine, Harper's Weekly.

Full text historic database of the New York Times newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1851-2020. A new year is added annually. For the most current issues, create a free NYT website account via the Library catalog.

Full text historic database of regional and local Illinois newspapers.

Full text and image database of 19th century US newspapers with an emphasis on the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life.

Digitized replica of the print magazine from cover to cover including articles and advertisements. The collection includes issues from March 1923 through December 2000. Excellent source for 20th century events, politics, business, advertising, photography, and popular culture.

Digitized pages of the Illinois State University campus newspaper starting from the first edition in February 1888 to December 1980.

An archival collection, focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, includes full-text documents, reviews of books and websites, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Digitized full text replica of the print version of The India Gazette (1782–1834); The Bengal Hurkaru and Chronicle (1822–1866); and The Bengal Times (1876–1908). Stories cover a range of topics from the American Revolution and the Crimean War, to British parliamentary debates on the India Act of 1858 to the industrial and pharmaceutical developments.