Skip to main content

History

Reference Sources

Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature


American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Ref. Z 6201 .A55 1995, Floor 2

Reference Sources in History
Ref. Z 6201 .F72 2004, Floor 2.

Sources of Information for Historical Research
Ref. Z 6201 .S64 1994, Floor 2

United States History:  a multicultural, interdisciplinary guide to information sources.
Ref. Z 1236 .P45 2003 Floor 2

Handbook for Research in American History
Ref. Z 1236 .P78 1994, Floor 2.

Harvard Guide to African-American History
Ref. E 185 .H326 2001, Floor

To locate additional bibliographies, search in the Online Catalog under subjects such as United States--History--Bibliography or France--History--Bibliography or Women--History--Bibliography.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of World History
Ref. D 21 .E53 1998, Floor 3

Dictionary of American History
Ref.  E 174 .D52 2003, Floor 2

Oxford Companion to British History
DA 34 .O93 2015, Floor 3

Companion to the French Revolution
Online  (2013)

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
CB 361 .E52 1999, Floor 3

Handbook of American Women’s History
Ref. HQ 1410 .H36 2000, Floor 2

Encyclopedia of African History and Culture
Ref. DT 3 .P27 2001, Floor 2

To locate additional dictionaries and encyclopedias, search in the Online Catalog under subjects such as Great Britain--History--Dictionaries or Africa--Encyclopedias, or Women--United States--History-Handbooks.

Biographical Sources


American National Biography
CT 213 .A68 1999, Floor 3 and Online.

Concise Dictionary of American Biography
E 176 .D564 1980, Floor 3

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
DA 28 .O95 2004, Floor 3

Who’s Who Among African Americans
 Online (2014)

Notable American Women: 1607 - 1950:  a biographical dictionary.
Ref. CT 3260 .N57, Floor 2 and Floor 3
Also available online in Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000.

Questions? Contact Me!

Vanette Schwartz's picture
Vanette Schwartz
Contact:
Milner Library 416
309-438-3486