History Databases
- America: History and Life
Citation database of journal articles about U.S. and Canadian history ranging from prehistoric to present times.
- Historical Abstracts
Citation database about world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada; search America History and Life).
- JSTORFull text multi-disciplinary database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources encompassing area studies, arts, business, economics, history, humanities, law, medicine, allied health, science, mathematics, and social sciences. Search Help for Students
- Project Muse Premium CollectionFull text scholarly journal database focused on the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
- Find a Database by TitleThis video shows how to find a Milner Library database when you already know the title.
- Find a Database by SubjectThis video shows how to find a Milner Library database that covers a specific subject or discipline.
Researching at Milner Library
Hello. My name is Grace Allbaugh. I’m the librarian for history. If you have any questions, please contact me.
This History guide can help you with:
- Getting started with the research process
- Identifying databases specific to history
- Techniques for finding subject specific sources such books, articles, etc.
- Linking to a course specific guide
Conducting research is an iterative process. For more information about how to conduct research, consult the An Overview: The Research Process web guide.
The following steps are helpful in beginning your research in History.
1. For background information on your topic, consult a reference source such as:
Reference Sources in History or Going to the Sources.
2. Check the list of sources or bibliography in your textbooks.
3. Search for books in your topic in the Milner Library Online Catalog.
4. Search for articles in History databases, such as:
- America: History and Life
Citation database of journal articles about U.S. and Canadian history ranging from prehistoric to present times.
- Historical Abstracts
Citation database about world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada; search America History and Life).
- Understanding Call NumbersFind books on the shelves more quickly with this quick overview of how to read Library of Congress call numbers.
- Citing SourcesLearn more about why we cite the sources we use, how to cite sources in a specific style, and strategies for avoiding plagiarism.
- Determine Credibility (Evaluating)Criteria and examples of how to evaluate a source to determine relevance and credibility.
- Help Videos for Using MilnerA suite of short step-by-step videos showing you how to use the various resources available in Milner Library.
Questions? Contact Me!
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.