- Accessible ArchivesA collection of digitized full text replicas of magazines, newspapers, and books covering many aspects of American life during colonial times, Civil War, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and World War I; covers science, literature, medicine, agriculture, family life, slavery, military, and religion.
- American Historical NewspapersCombined search over African American Newspapers (1827-1998), Early American Newspapers Series 13 (The American West, 1803-1916) and Series 18 (Racial Awakening in the Northeast, 1825-1879). Digitized full text historic databases covering a century and half of the African American experience in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement; society, business, scientific advances, investigative journalism, and human-interest stories in the American West (24 states west of the Mississippi River); and vivid accounts of people, organizations, and political cultures in mid-19th century New England during a critical time of racial awakening and social justice.
- Alternative Press Index
Citation database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from U. S. and international alternative, radical, and left publications covering topics related to socialism, revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays/lesbians. Limited to one user at a time.
- Chicago Defender (July 1909-2010)Full text database of the historic African-American newspaper. Includes the Chicago Daily Defender, the Daily Defender and weekend editions of the newspapers. Includes sources published from July 1909-2010
- Contemporary Women's IssuesFull text database focused on world-wide critical issues and events that influence women's lives and includes information from journals, newsletters, and research reports produced by non-profit groups and government and international agencies.
- Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)Streaming audio of American music from independent record labels and sound archives. Also includes liner notes and essays. A wide variety of genres including folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, and electronic.
- eHRAF ArchaeologyFull text database focused on the prehistory of the world. Archaeological documents' paragraphs are subject coded to quickly find relevant information.
- eHRAF World CulturesFull text database focused on all aspects of cultural and social life around the world. Ethnography documents' paragraphs are subject coded to quickly find relevant information.
- Europa World of LearningA worldwide directory of notable individuals, institutions, and organizations within academics. Conduct searches by country, institutions, subject, or people.
- GenderWatchFull text interdisciplinary database including articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
- Kanopy VideoMulti-disciplinary streaming video platform including educational videos and feature films with a focus on race and gender studies, communication, education, sociology, psychology, health sciences, and the arts.
- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseFull text database focused on the trans-Atlantic slave trade between 1514 and 1866. Primary source materials include original documents, historical publications, and digital images.
- Women Writers OnlineFull text database of womens writing published between 1526 and 1850 by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University.
Alexander Street Press Titles
- Asian American DramaFind full text plays and production information related to Asian American drama.
- Black DramaFind full text plays written by playwrights from North America, Africa, the Caribbean, and African diaspora countries.
- Black Thought and CultureWritten by leaders within the black community, this database includes books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews from authors such as Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, and Booker T. Washington.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineStreaming video collection focused on human culture and behavior including themes like family and race, material culture, marriage, gender, and family roles among others.
- Jazz Music Library (Music Online)This compressive streaming jazz music database includes over 5000 jazz albums representing various artists, ensembles, and genres.
- Latin American DramaFull text poetry, fiction, and plays, including never published before works, written in English and Spanish by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
- LGBT Thought and CultureA wide range of full text materials including books, articles, letters, speeches, interviews, memoirs, biographies, poetry, and fiction illuminating the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community.
- March of TimeStreaming video collection including newsreels, films, and transcripts. They cover a variety of topics such as racism, poverty, war, nuclear power, and the court system.
- North American Indian DramaA collection of full text plays from American Indian and First Nation playwrights as well as detailed information of productions, theaters, and production companies. Also included is the Native Playwrights' Newsletter with original essays, articles, photographs, interviews, reviews, and production information.
- North American Indian Thought and CultureFull text biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs of the life stories of Native Americans and Canadian First Peoples.
- North American Women's DramaFull text plays written by female playwrights from colonial times to the present. Also includes detailed information about productions, theaters, and production companies.
- Women and Social Movements in the US (Scholar's Edition)An archival collection, focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, includes full-text documents, reviews of books and websites, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Select Milner Collections
- Ethnology Teaching CollectionIllinois State University has a rich history of using objects as a dynamic hands-on approach to teaching. For example, as early as 1862, plant and animal specimens were used in classrooms to encourage students to explore the natural world around them. By the late 1980s ISU’s University Museums contained more than 30,000 objects of all kinds, natural and artifacts.
- Milner Special CollectionsFour main collections: Abraham Lincoln, Children’s Literature & Historical Textbook, Circus & Allied Arts, and Rare & Fine.
- Niiyama Poetic Japanese PotteryJapanese ceramicist Mitsuya Niiyama created these one hundred ceramic pieces as interpretations of the poems of the Hyakunin Isshu.
Open Access Databases
- data.census.gov
Search U.S. Census data covering population, housing, industry, and business. Create visual geographical maps based on data retrieved.
- Cartoonists of Color DatabaseProvides profiles on cartoonists who are people of color. Records include their ethnicity, illustrative and writing genres, work titles, websites, and social media presence.
- Digital Transgender ArchiveThis free resource, on transgender history, is an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. This resource focuses on collecting materials created before the year 2000.
- National JukeboxAudio streaming database of historic acoustic recordings from 1901 and 1925. Provided for free to the public by the Library of Congress.
- Queer Cartoonists DatabaseProvides profiles on cartoonists who are part of the queer community. Records include their gender, illustrative and writing genres, work titles, websites, and social media presence.
- Queer Comics DatabaseIncludes comics containing substantive queer representation across the LGBTQIA spectrum, as well as intersectional representation.
