It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Milner owns thousands of books on various industries. To search for books, go to Milner's catalog, and set the dropdown arrow in the first search field to "Subject." Next, try formulating a likely subject phrase for your industry (e.g. "computer industry, etc.). If that does not produce the desired results, search the following Library of Congress site for the official term for your industry. Here are some samples of books on industries from Milner's catalog:
The evolution of banking in the industrialized world since 1800.
NAICS and SIC codes are numerical codes assigned by the U.S. government to business establishments to identify the primary business of the establishment. The classification systems were developed to facilitate the collection, presentation, and analysis of data; and to promote uniformity and comparability in the presentation of statistical data collected by various agencies of the federal government, state agencies, and private organizations. SIC codes are four digit numbers and were used by the federal government until 1997; some private publishers still use them. NAICS codes are six digits long and have been used by federal agencies starting in 1997.
Enter a keyword from your industry in the first search box and then click on the down arrow, selecting "IC NAICS Code or Description." Do not use the NAICS code number, but a word from the description (e.g. Semiconductor). Set "Document Type" to "Industry Overview" and "Publication Type" to "Industry Profile" and hit Search.
A large collection of industry profiles, organized by NAICS. (NOTE: See above for how to understand the NAICS system). All IBISWorld reports contain sections on Industry Performance, Outlook, Competitive Landscape, Products & Markets, etc.
Click on "Industries" tab at top of page. Under "Industry Surveys," click on the down arrow button to select the industry you are researching. For global industry surveys, select the Region and the Industry. Sub-industry surveys are also available; these reports are more granular (and briefer) than the full industry surveys. Each full industry survey contains a section on how to analyze companies in that industry.
One of the best databases for trade and industry periodicals. After entering the database, click on "More Search Options" to expand the selection of search fields. Click on the link "Look Up NAICS Codes" for an expandable taxonomy of industry codes. You must open up the categories until you get to the level where you can "Add to Search" your chosen NAICS code(s). After adding your code(s), close the NAICS search window and return to the Advanced Search form and hit "Search."
6th edition. Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. Volume 1 covers manufacturing industries; Volume 2 addresses non-manufacturing and service industries.
7th edition. Presents statistics on numerous NAICS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries. Compiled from the most recent government publications. Covers input-output data by industrial sector when available as well as classifications of leading public and private corporations in each industry.