Surveys and Survey Results / Local (ISU)
- Illinois Uniform Crime Report StatisticsStatistics on local campus crime.
- Institutional and Student InformationVarious reports, including student enrollment and degree statistics.
- ISU Alumni SurveyTo attain feedback from graduates, Illinois State University administers the Alumni Survey for graduates one and five years after graduation.
- Student Engagement SurveyResults of survey given to first-year ISU students. NSEE report compares local stats against national results.
Surveys and Survey Results / National & International
- American Community SurveyAn ongoing survey by the U.S. Census Bureau that provides data every year -- giving communities the current information they need to plan investments and services.
- American Consumer Satisfaction IndexDeveloped by the National Quality Research Center at the University of Michigan Business School. Select ACSI Results for national measures of consumer satisfaction evaluating 200 companies in 43 industries.
- American Time Use SurveyA survey of the Bureau of Labor Statistics that measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
- Consumer Expenditure SurveyNational survey data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- Gallup PollFloor 2 Reference (HN90.P8 G3) and Floor 4 Stacks. An annual summary of the results of polls conducted by the Gallup Organization. Discontinued in print in 2009, but useful for historical purposes as it goes back to 1978.
- iPoll (Roper)Statistics and data gathered from multiple surveys administered by organizations in the United States, Europe, Latin America, and Asia. Data includes opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. To download datasets, create a personal account.
- J.D. Power Consumer CenterProvides ratings for automobiles, boats, electronics, finance & insurance, healthcare, homes, telecom and travel.
- Survey of Consumer FinancesFederal Reserve Board triennial survey of the balance sheet, pension, income, and other demographic characteristics of U.S. families. The survey also gathers information on the use of financial institutions.
- U.S. Census BureauU.S. Census data, accessible via the American FactFinder interface.
Techniques
- QuirksMarketing research review produced for market research professionals. Includes thousands of practical market research articles--some of which are free. The newest articles require a subscription.
- Business Source UltimateHere you can search for "Market surveys" in one of MIlner's databases.
Other Data Sources (Print)
- Demographics USAFloor 2 Reference (HF5437 .S3202). Includes demographic data, market rankings, retail sales, and projections for metro markets and TV markets. Has users’ guide for advertising, marketing, and sales planning applications.
- Editor & Publisher Market GuideFloor 2 Reference (HF5905 .E38). Annual guide to market rankings for metro areas.
- Lifestyle Market AnalystFloor 4 Stacks (HF5415.33.U6 L54) A reference guide for consumer market analysis.
Other Reference
- GreenBook (Online)Directory of market research companies and services, and limited free articles about the market research industry.
- What is Market Research?Entry from Oxford Dictionary of Marketing.
Research Assistance
Danielle Futoran Turos
she/her/hers
Contact:
Visit me: Milner Library, room 418
Please contact for in-person appointment.
Email: dmfutor@ilstu.edu
Please contact for in-person appointment.
Email: dmfutor@ilstu.edu
309-438-5891
Reference
Encyclopedia of Research Design by ISBN: 9781412961271Publication Date: 2010-06-22The Encyclopedia of Research Design elucidates how one makes decisions about research design, interprets data and draws valid inferences, undertakes research projects in an ethical manner, and evaluates experimental design strategies and results.
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods by ISBN: 9781412918084Publication Date: 2008-09-12The Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods is specifically written to appeal to beginning, intermediate, and advanced students, practitioners, researchers, consultants, and consumers of survey-based information.
Handbook of Marketing Scales by ISBN: 9781412980180Publication Date: 2010-12-10The Handbook of Marketing Scales, Third Edition represents a clear, concise, and easy-to-use compilation of multi-item, self-report measures developed and/or frequently used in consumer behavior and marketing research.
The SAGE Handbook of Interview Research by ISBN: 9781412981644Publication Date: 2012-02-14Handbook encourages readers simultaneously to learn the frameworks and technologies of interviewing and to reflect on the epistemological foundations of the interview craft.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by ISBN: 9781412974172Publication Date: 2011-04-27The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research is an absolutely essential reference for any scholar interested in the art, science, and practice of qualitative research, as well as a critical resource for all academic and public libraries.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Marketing by ISBN: 9781849201889Publication Date: 2011-12-06This handbook presents a major retrospective and prospective overview of social marketing, helping to define and shape its current and future developments.- Encyclopedia of measurement and statistics byCall Number: HA29 .S2363 2007ISBN: 9781412939638Publication Date: 2007Information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics. Specifically designed to appeal to beginning and intermediate-level students, practitioners, researchers, and consumers of information.
- Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods byISBN: 9781412963909Publication Date: 2008Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research.
