Philosophy Reference Resources
List of Databases:
This is a list of Milner's databases that collect electronic reference sources. The subsequent tabs list specific reference titles that relate to philosophical topics.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFull text multi-disciplinary database of reference books, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium CollectionMulti-disciplinary compilation of reference sources and includes full text articles, definitions, and quotations. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- Sage KnowledgeIncludes ebooks and video covering all aspects of the social sciences such as education, media, communication, cultural studies, counseling, psychotherapy, business, management, politics, international relations, psychology, sociology, criminology, and criminal justice.
Books
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Electronic Resource) by
10 volumes
Call Number: B51 .E53 2006ebISBN: 9780028660721Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
The most complete and up-to-date philosophy reference for a new generation, with entries ranging from Abstract Objects to Wisdom, Socrates to Jean-Paul Sartre, Ancient Egyptian Philosophy to Yoruba Epistemology. The Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophyincludes: * More than 2000 alphabetically arranged, accessible entries * Contributors from more than 1200 of the world's leading thinkers * Comprehensive coverage of the classic philosophical themes, such as Plato, Arguments for the Existence of God and Metaphysics * Up-to-date coverage of contemporary philosophers, ideas, schools and recent developments, including Jacques Derrida, Poststructuralism and Ecological Philosophy * Unrivalled international and multicultural scope with entries such as Modern Islamic Philosophy, Marxist Thought in Latin America and Chinese Buddhist Thought * An exhaustive index for ease of use * Extensive cross-referencing * Suggestions for further reading at the end of each entry
Call Number: B51 .C58 2000ISBN: 0415223644Publication Date: 1999-12-28
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy (Electronic Resource) by
This best-selling dictionary covers all areas of philosophy and contains terms from the related fields of religion, science, and logic. Clear and authoritative definitions and make it an essential resource for students and teachers and an ideal introduction for anyone with an interest in philosophy (for students, faculty, and staff only).
ISBN: 9780199541430Publication Date: 2008-10-02
The Oxford Handbook of World Philosophy by
The Oxford Handbook of World Philosophy provides the advanced student or scholar a set of introductions to each of the world's major non-European philosophical traditions. It offers the non-specialist a way in to unfamiliar philosophical texts and methods and the opportunity to explore non-European philosophical terrain and to connect her work in one tradition to philosophical ideas or texts from another. Sections on Chinese Philosophy, Indian Philosophy, Buddhist Philosophy, East Asian Philosophy, African Philosophy, and Recent Trends in Global Philosophy are each edited by an expert in the field. Each section includes a general introduction and a set of authoritative articles written by leading scholars, designed to provide the non-specialist a broad overview of a major topic or figure. This volume is an invaluable aid to those who would like to pursue philosophy in a global context, and to those who are committed to moving beyond Eurocentrism in academic philosophy.
Call Number: BD21 .O97 2011ISBN: 9780195328998Publication Date: 2011-05-23
Sites
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
- Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and operates through the volunteer work of the editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers. At present the IEP is visited over 950,000 times per month. The Encyclopedia is free of charge and available to all users of the Internet world-wide. The staff of 30 editors and approximately 300 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities around the world, most notably from English-speaking countries.
- Guide to Philosophy on the InternetOnline collection of resources about global philosophy. Created by Peter Suber, a professor of Philosophy at Earlham College.
World Philosophers and Their Works by
Examines the lives, works, and influence of ancient and contemporary world philosophers from Pythagoras and Jalal al-Din Rumi to Elie Wiesel and Alison M. Jaggar, and analyzes the authorship and historical context of ancient works.
Call Number: B104 .W67 2000ISBN: 0893568783Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers by
This unique volume covers the lives and careers of thinkers from all areas of philosophy - from analytic philosophy to Zen and from formal logic to aesthetics. All the major figures of philosophy, such as Nietzsche, Wittgenstein and Russell are examined and analysed. The scope of the work is not merely restricted to the major figures in western philosophy but also covers in depth a significant number of thinkers from the near and far east and from the non-European Hispanic-language communities.
Call Number: B104 .B56 1996ISBN: 0415060435Publication Date: 1995-12-15
Dictionary of Modern American Philosophers by
The Dictionary of Modern American Philosophers includes both academic and non-academic philosophers, anda large number of female and minority thinkers whose work has been neglected. It includes those intellectualsinvolved in the development of psychology, pedagogy, sociology, anthropology, education, theology, politicalscience, and several other fields, before these disciplines came to be considered distinct from philosophy in thelate nineteenth century.Each entry contains a short biography of the writer, an exposition and analysis of his or her doctrines and ideas, abibliography of writings, and suggestions for further reading. While all the major post-Civil War philosophers arepresent, the most valuable feature of this dictionary is its coverage of a huge range of less well-known writers,including hundreds of presently obscure thinkers. In many cases, the Dictionary of Modern AmericanPhilosophers offers the first scholarly treatment of the life and work of certain writers. This book will be anindispensable reference work for scholars working on almost any aspect of modern American thought.
Call Number: B851 .D53 2005ISBN: 1843710374Publication Date: 2005-06-20
A History of Women Philosophers, 600 B. C.-500 A. D. by
This first volume in a set of four chronicles the contributions women have made to that most abstract of intellectual disciplines, philosophy.
Call Number: B105.W6 A53 1987ISBN: 9024733685Publication Date: 1987-04-30
A History of Women Philosophers: Medieval, Renaissance, and Enlightenment women philosophers, A.D. 500-1600 by
second volume
Call Number: B105.W6 M39 1989ISBN: 9024735726Publication Date: 1989-12-31
A History of Women Philosophers: Modern women philosophers, 1600-1900 by
third volume
Call Number: B105.W6 M63 1991ISBN: 0792309308Publication Date: 1990-12-31
A History of Women Philosophers: Contemporary women philosophers : 1900-today by
fourth volume
Call Number: B105.W6 C66 1995ISBN: 0792328078Publication Date: 1994-11-30
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy by
The Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy is a unique one-volume reference work which makes a broad range of richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience.
Call Number: B121 .C661997ISBN: 041503535XPublication Date: 1997-02-11
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics - A-Der by
Applied ethics, a subdiscipline of philosophy, lends itself to an encyclopedia format because of the many industries and intellectual fields that it encompasses. The Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics is based on twelve major categories, such as Biomedical Ethics and Environmental Ethics. Religious traditions that embody normative beliefs, as well as classical theories of ethics, are explored in a non-judgmental manner. Each of the twelve categories is divided into discrete areas that are covered by 5,000-6,000 word articles. Each of the 281 articles begins with a definition of the subject and includes a table of contents, glossary of key terms, and bibliography. Second- and third- level headings, boxes, sidebars, and the like emphasize the reference-oriented nature of the material. The four volumes are arranged in an A-Z format, with a complete subject index at the end of the last volume. Articles are written by international experts, arranged alphabetically by title, not by subject, and cross-referenced so the reader can locate relevant information in other articles.
Call Number: BJ63 .E44 1998ISBN: 0122270657Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by
Presents a collection of articles about bioethics, covering such topics as embryonic stem cell research, cybernetics, cloning, and bioterrorism.
Call Number: QH332 .E52 2004ISBN: 0028657748Publication Date: 1905-06-01
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by Call Number: BH56 .E53 1998ISBN: 0195113071Publication Date: 1998-08-20
Encyclopedia of Phenomenology by Call Number: B829.5 .E53 1997ISBN: 0792329562Publication Date: 1996-12-31
