Milner Catalog
-
All I-Share Libraries Search - AdvancedLink to Milner's catalog and shared catalog for all I-share libraries.
Material written by a specific individual, such as autobiographies, letters and diaries, or interviews of an individual may be excellent primary sources. To determine if Milner Library has these materials, search in Milner's Online Catalog under the name of the person as an author, or under a group of people, or under an event.
You can also use subject matter terms like, Sources, Correspondence, Diaries, Personal narratives, Interviews, Oral history, etc., as keywords to supplement your search on particular topics to find primary sources relating to those ideas.
News Sources
-
New York Times, Historical (1851-2020)Full text historic database of the New York Times newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1851-2020. A new year is added annually. For the most current issues, create a free NYT website account via the Library catalog.
-
Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-2013)Full text historic database of the Chicago Tribune newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1849-2012; new year added annually.
-
Chicago Defender (July 1909-2010)Full text database of the historic African-American newspaper. Includes the Chicago Daily Defender, the Daily Defender and weekend editions of the newspapers. Includes sources published from July 1909-2010
-
Newspapers.com Illinois CollectionFull text historic database of regional and local Illinois newspapers.
Other Databases:
-
ArchiveGridOnline catalog with records describing archival materials such as historical documents, personal papers, and family histories representing collections from libraries, archives, museums, and other organizations around the world.
-
WorldCatCatalog includes records of published content in various formats from around the world dating back to the 11th century.
-
ProQuest CongressionalCompilation of U.S. House and Senate publications from hearings, committees, and other documents. Includes full text to the US Serial Set. (Help with database)
-
Data.gov
This is the home of the United States federal government’s open data. There are over a third of a million datasets available from a wide variety of topics, such as agriculture, climate, energy, local government, maritime, ocean. The site includes data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
-
Historic DocumentsOnline version of the print source. Each annual volume highlights the most significant events of the year and includes speeches from leaders and opinion makers, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, U.S. government reports & legislation, court cases, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
-
Women and Social Movements in the US (Scholar's Edition)An archival collection, focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, includes full-text documents, reviews of books and websites, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
-
Black Thought and CultureWritten by leaders within the black community, this database includes books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews from authors such as Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, and Booker T. Washington.
Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.