Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.

Digital image collection of leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists covering topics such as architecture, art history, fashion & costume, design, and more. As of August 2024, Artstor is accessed through JSTOR. 

Optional: To use Workspace to save and organize content, create a personal JSTOR account using an @ilstu.edu email address.

Written by leaders within the black community, this database includes books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews from authors such as Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, and Booker T. Washington.

Includes information from journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies. Updated every two weeks. Includes citations, abstracts, and full text.

This free resource, on transgender history, is an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. This resource focuses on collecting materials created before the year 2000.

Streaming video collection focused on human culture and behavior including themes like family and race, material culture, marriage, gender, and family roles among others.

Full text interdisciplinary database including articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.

A wide range of full text materials including books, articles, letters, speeches, interviews, memoirs, biographies, poetry, and fiction illuminating the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community.

Full text scholarly journal database focused on the humanities, arts, and social sciences.

This is a general database that contains publications related to a variety of subject areas, including many resources related to Women's and Gender Studies. From the main page it is possible to limit the search results to journals specific to these subject areas by selecting "Women's Studies, Gender, and Sexuality" from the search menu.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, and more. The database also features over 25,000 author profiles. SocINDEX includes full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908, and full text for more than 820 books and 14,000 conference papers.

Indexes articles in more than 1,900 journals, book abstracts and review citations in sociology and related fields. Provides citations, abstracts.

An archival collection, focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, includes full-text documents, reviews of books and websites, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

An archival collection, focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, includes full-text documents, reviews of books and websites, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Full text database of womens writing published between 1526 and 1850 by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University.