Skip to Main Content

Physics

Books specific to Physics

Most books on Physics can be found on the 5th floor of Milner Library.

Call Number Range Subject
QB Astronomy
QC 1 - 80 General Physics
QC 16 Biographies
QC 21 - 23 Physics Textbooks
QC 81 - 119 Weights and Measures
QC 120 - 169 Descriptive and Experimental Mechanics
QC 170 - 219 Atomic Physics and Matter
QC 220 - 250 Acoustics and Sound
QC 251 - 349 Heat
QC 350 - 473 Optics, Light, Spectroscopy, Holography
QC 474 - 500 Radiation Physics
QC 501 - 769 Electricity and Magnetism
QC 770 - 800 Nuclear and Particle Physics and Radioactivity
QC 801 - 850 Geophysics and Geomagnetism
QC 851+ Meteorology and Climatology

Interested in how long you can check out a book? View the list of loan periods for Milner resources.

Look at our Understanding Call Numbers guide for more information.

Physics Reference Books

Encyclopedia of the History of Astronomy and Astrophysics

This comprehensive Encyclopedia covers the full history of astronomy from its ancient origins in Africa, South America, the Middle East and China to the latest developments in astrophysics and space-based research. The initial articles, which are largely organised chronologically, are followed by numerous thematic historical articles on the constituents of the Solar System, types of stars, stellar evolution, active galaxies, cosmology and much more. These are followed by articles on tools and techniques, from the history of spectroscopy to adaptive optics. The last part of the Encyclopedia is devoted to the history of ground- and space-based telescopes and observatories, covering the full spectral range from gamma-rays through the optical waveband to radio waves. Informative and accessibly written, each article is followed by an extensive bibliography to facilitate further research, whilst consistent coverage from ancient times to the present makes this an ideal resource for scholars, students and amateur astronomers alike.

Ancient Astronomy

An authoritative introduction to the fascinating topic of archaeoastronomy--ancient peoples' understanding and use of the skies. Ancient Astronomy: An Encyclopedia of Cosmologies and Myth draws on archaeological evidence and oral traditions to reveal how prehistoric humans perceived the skies and celestial phenomena. With over 200 entries, it offers a number of ways to approach ancient astronomy, from key examples and case studies worldwide (Stonehenge; Mexican and Egyptian pyramids; Chaco Canyon, New Mexico; the Nazca lines in Peru) to general themes (cosmologies, calendars, ancient ideas of space and time, origin myths), to fundamental concepts and methods (how the sky has changed over the centuries, how to survey a site), and to the field's most frequently asked questions (How did ancient peoples navigate the ocean using the stars? How does astrology relate to ancient astronomy? Can ancient sites be dated astronomically?) By revealing the astronomical significance of some of the world's most famous ancient landmarks and enduring myths and by showing how different themes and concepts are connected, Ancient Astronomy: An Encyclopedia of Cosmologies and Myth brings a unique authoritative perspective to an area too often left to speculation and sensationalism. Over 200 A-Z entries covering broad definitions and concepts, case studies from five continents, themes and issues, objects in the sky as the focus of myth, basic concepts, and influential people Vibrant illustrations including the stone circles at Avebury, comets, novae, and meteors Simple, jargon-free explanations of basic astronomical concepts Over 40 images including the Stonehenge Heelstone at dawn; the Cosmic Axis at the Forbidden City, Beijing; the Temple of the Sun at Teotihuacan; Ahu Huri at Urenga, Easter Island; the Aboriginal stone configuration at Lake Bolac, Victoria, Australia; and more

Encyclopedia of Physics

Physics is a challenging yet rewarding science for students in high school and college. A comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia of physics, Encyclopedia of Physics presents a broad overview of the field at a level and in a format suitable for students and general readers. Focused on pure physics - which deals with the most fundamental aspects of nature such as light, sound, movement, and force - its scope of coverage is wide and significant, including entries on concepts, terms, effects, laws, principles, theories, experiments, observations, people, institutions, organizations, issues, laboratories, and other subjects. Complementing the coverage of pure physics topics, concise, general entries discuss interdisciplinary subjects, such as applied physics, astrophysics, biophysics, chemical physics, geophysics, and medical physics. Biographical entries present personal profiles of important physicists, past and present, and list their accomplishments. Details about their achievements are presented in separate, cross-referenced entries. While the emphasis is on the present state of physics, the science's historical background and development are explained, as appropriate, to give perspective on current issues in physics. With more than 600 entries, 11 prose essays on particularly interesting topics in physics, and more than 180 black-and-white photographs and line illustrations, this is an ideal reference to this core area of science.

The Facts on File Physics Handbook

Among the topics covered are: • Acceleration • Ballistics • Boiling Point • Catalyst • Data Communications • Electrolyte • Frequency Modulation • Gamma Radiation • Inertia • Prism • Relative Atomic Mass • Transverse Waves • White Dwarf • X-rays. Biographies include: • Alexander Graham Bell • Arthur Holly Compton • Pierre Curie • Sir James Dewar • Christian Doppler • Albert Einstein • Euclid • Gabriel Daniel Fahrenheit • Hans William Geiger • Stephen Hawking • Pythagoras. Tables

AIP Physics Desk Reference

Originally published by the American Institute of Physics as the Physics Vade Mecum, this third edition has been completely updated to reflect contemporary modern physics. It is a concise compilation of the most frequently used physics data and formulae with their derivations, and this edition contains six new chapters, with outdated chapters dropped, and new chapters added on atmospheric physics, electricity and magnetism, elementary particle physics, fluid dynamics, geophysics, nonlinear physics, particle accelerators, polymer physics, and quantum theory. A new, final chapter deals with practical laboratory data, while the references and bibliographies have been updated. The book should prove a valuable tool for researchers, professionals and students in physics as well as others who use physics data.

How Things Work

How Things Work uses familiar objects to introduce basic physics concepts, demonstrating the excitement and relevance to professionals in a variety of technical fields. Because its structure is defined by real-life examples, this book explores concepts as they're needed and then revisits them later on when they reappear in other objects. It integrates case studies throughout the chapters to easily convey an understanding and appreciation for physics. For example, discussions of skating, falling balls, and bumper cars are included to explain the Laws of Motion. Air conditioners and automobiles are used to explore thermodynamics. Engineers, architects, and professionals in other technical fields will benefit from the material that connects science to our everyday world.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics

Full text online version of the classic handbook of scientific reference data. Includes physical constants, conversion factors, symbols, nomenclature, chemical properties, and mathematical tables.

The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Physics

This Oxford Handbook provides an overview of many of the topics that currently engage philosophers of physics. It surveys new issues and the problems that have become a focus of attention in recent years. It also provides up-to-date discussions of the still very important problems that dominated the field in the past. In the late 20th Century, the philosophy of physics was largely focused on orthodox Quantum Mechanics and Relativity Theory. The measurement problem, the question of the possibility of hidden variables, and the nature of quantum locality dominated the literature on the quantum mechanics, whereas questions about relationalism vs. substantivalism, and issues about underdetermination of theories dominated the literature on spacetime. These issues still receive considerable attention from philosophers, but many have shifted their attentions to other questions related to quantum mechanics and to spacetime theories. Quantum field theory has become a major focus, particularly from the point of view of algebraic foundations. Concurrent with these trends, there has been a focus on understanding gauge invariance and symmetries. The philosophy of physics has evolved even further in recent years with attention being paid to theories that, for the most part, were largely ignored in the past. For example, the relationship between thermodynamics and statistical mechanics---once thought to be a paradigm instance of unproblematic theory reduction---is now a hotly debated topic. The implicit, and sometimes explicit, reductionist methodology of both philosophers and physicists has been severely criticized and attention has now turned to the explanatory and descriptive roles of "non-fundamental,'' phenomenological theories. This shift of attention includes "old'' theories such as classical mechanics, once deemed to be of little philosophical interest. Furthermore, some philosophers have become more interested in "less fundamental'' contemporary physics such as condensed matter theory. Questions abound with implications for the nature of models, idealizations, and explanation in physics. This Handbook showcases all these aspects of this complex and dynamic discipline.

The Stargazer's Guide

The Stargazer's Guide is an accessible astronomy guide to the history, science, and myth of the night sky, perfect for anyone entranced by the stars. Guiding readers through what there is to see in the sky, why it's interesting, and how previous generations viewed and interpreted it, expert stargazer Emily Winterburn entertains and informs with this fun, accessible, and appealing look at the beauty of the heavens.

The Facts on File Space and Astronomy Handbook

Appreciating the principles that underlie the physical world requires a keen understanding of astronomy and space exploration. Featuring more than 2000 entries, this reference combines relevant terms, facts, chronologies and tables into a single resource. Among the topics covered are: active galaxies; big bang theory; deep space network (DSN); international space station (ISS); luminosity; planet fall; and space transportation system (STS). The featured biographies include: Neil Armstrong; Friedrich W Bessel; Tycho Brahe; Giovanni Domenico Cassini; Nicholaus Copernicus; Edmond Halley; Stephen William Hawking; Christiaan Huygens; Carl Edward Sagan; Charles Joseph Messier; and Johannes Kepler. The tables, charts and diagrams include: absorption spectrum; Baker-Schmidt telescope; centrifugal force; equatorial axis; Hertzsprung-Russell (HR) diagram; Kepler's laws; magnetosphere; outer planets; Stefan-Boltzmann law; and X-ray astronomy.

Handbook of Practical Astronomy

The Compendium of Practical Astronomy is unique. The practical astronomer, whether student, novice or accomplished amateur, will find this handbook the most comprehensive, up-to-date and detailed single guide to the subject available. It is based on Roth's celebrated German language handbook for amateur astronomers, which first appeared over 40 years ago.

Patrick Moore's Data Book of Astronomy

Packed with up-to-date astronomical data about the Solar System, our Galaxy and the wider Universe, this is a one-stop reference for astronomers of all levels. It gives the names, positions, sizes and other key facts of all the planets and their satellites; discusses the Sun in depth, from sunspots to solar eclipses; lists the dates for cometary returns, close-approach asteroids, and significant meteor showers; and includes 88 star charts, with the names, positions, magnitudes and spectra of the stars, along with key data on nebulae and clusters. Full of facts and figures, this is the only book you need to look up data about astronomy. It is destined to become the standard reference for everyone interested in astronomy.

Norton's Star Atlas and Reference Handbook

The most famous guide to the stars is now the most accessible! Generations of amateur astronomers have called it simply Norton's- the most famous star atlas in the world. Now in a beautifully redesigned, two-color landmark 20th edition, this combination star atlas and reference guide has no match in the field. First published in 1910, coinciding with the first of two appearances by Halley's Comet last century, Norton's owes much of its legendary success to its unique maps, arranged in slices or gores, each covering approximately one-fifth of the sky. Apart from being presented more accessibly than ever before, the text and tables have been revised and updated to account for the new and exciting developments in our observation of the cosmos. The star maps themselves were plotted using advanced computer techniques yielding outstanding accuracy and legibility. Every heavenly object visible to the naked eye is included-stars to magnitude 6, star clusters, and galaxies, as well as other celestial objects. Presented with an authority that has stood for generations, observation hints, technical explanations, and pointers to specialized information sources make this the only essential guide to the night sky. The updated and revised hardcover 20th edition also has new moon maps, clearer tables, new diagrams and a section on the latest computer driven telescopes-today's perfect home reference for curious minds from beginners to dedicated star gazers! What are people saying? . . . 'The unique and time-honored projection used in the Norton's star charts is particularly handy and has always been my favorite.' --Professor Owen Gingerich, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics 'Once in a blue moon a book appears to dramatically and forever change its subject; in short, the work becomes an indispensable resource for generations. Norton's Star Atlas is such a work.' -Leif J. Robinson, Editor Emeritus, Sky and Telescope 'Ian Ridpath is one of the most dedicated and prolific writers on astronomy. His works all have clarity and authority, and he is ideally suited to infuse new life into a classic.' -Martin Rees, Astronomer Royal, University of Cambridge, author of Our Final Hour

National Geographic Backyard Guide to the Night Sky

Stargazing's too much fun to leave to astronomers. This National Geographic book brings the solar system, space, stars, science, and planets to life in your own backyard, inspiring us to look up and understand the heavens above. Authors Howard Schneider and Patricia Daniels take an expert but easygoing approach that doesn't overwhelm-it invites. Ten chapters cover everything a beginning stargazer will need to know, from understanding the phases of the moon to picking Mars out of a planetary lineup to identifying the kinds of stars twinkling in the constellations.Throughout the book, star charts and tables present key facts in an easy-to-understand format, sidebars and fact boxes present illuminating anecdotes and fun facts to sweep us swiftly into the stardust, and by the time we realize we've been schooled in solid science we're too engrossed to object.Along with practical advice and hands-on tips to improve observation techniques, the guide includes an appendix full of resources-from books and web sites to lists of astronomy clubs and associations to local planetariums and museums. This indispensable book guides us on a new path into the night sky, truly one of the greatest shows on Earth.

The Cambridge Star Atlas

This classic star atlas is ideal for both beginning astronomers and more experienced observers worldwide. The clear, full-color maps show stars, clusters and galaxies visible with binoculars or a small telescope. The atlas also features constellation boundaries and the Milky Way, and lists objects that are interesting to observe. This new edition features a clearer map of the Moon's surface, showing craters and features; a second Moon map, mirror reversed for users of telescopes with star diagonals; enhanced index charts showing the constellations more clearly; and a new data table listing stars hosting planetary systems. It is now spiral bound, making it ideal for use at the telescope.

A Dictionary of Astronomy

The revised second edition of this established dictionary contains over 4,300 up-to-date entries covering all aspects of astronomy. Compiled with the help of over 20 expert contributors under the editorship of renowned author and broadcaster Ian Ridpath, A Dictionary of Astronomy coverseverything from space exploration and the equipment involved, to astrophysics, cosmology, and the concept of time. The dictionary also includes biographical entries on eminent astronomers, as well as worldwide coverage of observatories and telescopes. Supplementary material is included in theappendices, such as tables of Apollo lunar landing missions and the constellations, a table of planetary data, and numerous other tables and diagrams complement the entries.The entries have been fully revised and updated for this edition, and new entries have been added to reflect the recent developments within the field of astronomy, including magnetic reconnection, Fornax cluster, luminosity density, and Akatsuki. The content is enhanced by entry-level web links,which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website.A Dictionary of Astronomy is an invaluable reference source for students, professionals, amateur astronomers, and space enthusiasts.

Cambridge Illustrated Dictionary of Astronomy

This lavishly illustrated new dictionary written by an experienced writer and consultant on astronomy provides an essential guide to the universe for amateur astronomers of all ages. Around 1300 carefully selected and cross-referenced entries are complemented by hundreds of beautiful colour illustrations, taken from space missions, the Hubble Space Telescope, and other major observatories on Earth and in space. Distinguished stellar illustrator Wil Tirion has drawn 20 new star maps especially for inclusion here. A myriad of named astronomical objects, constellations, observatories and space missions are described in detail, as well as biographical sketches for 70 of the most luminous individuals in the history of astronomy and space science. Acronyms and specialist terms are clearly explained, making for the most thorough and carefully assembled reference resource that teachers and enthusiasts of astronomy will ever need.

Questions? Contact me!

Profile Photo
Julie Murphy
Contact:
Milner 517

(309) 438-5317
Subjects: Physics

Reading eBooks

There are three ways to read eBooks:

  1. Read in your browser
  2. Download to your laptop or tablet
  3. Print one or more pages

In most instances, you will be prompted to log in using your ULID username and password before the eBook is displayed, whether or not you are on or off campus.

The steps to download or print an eBook are dependent on the publisher's website. Consult our eBook Guide for specific information about each format.