Guides: Anthropology: Recommended Resources

Anthropology databases

Annual Review of Anthropology
The Annual Review covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and socio-cultural anthropology.

eHRAF World Cultures
Full text database focused on all aspects of cultural and social life around the world. Ethnography documents' paragraphs are subject coded to quickly find relevant information.
eHRAF Archaeology
Full text database focused on the prehistory of the world. Archaeological documents' paragraphs are subject coded to quickly find relevant information.

Anthropological Index Online
Published by the Royal Anthropological Institute in cooperation with the British Museum, Anthropology Library and Research Centre, this database indexes some 800 journals in English and other languages with records covering 1957 to the present.

Abstracts in Anthropology
Citation database of scholarly anthropology research including cultural and physical anthropology, linguistics and archaeology.

Includes sources published from 2000 to present

Find a Database by Title
This video shows how to find a Milner Library database when you already know the title.
Find a Database by Subject
This video shows how to find a Milner Library database that covers a specific subject or discipline.

SocINDEX
Full text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
Sociological Abstracts (SocAbs)

Citation database covering all aspects of sociology and related disciplines and includes journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.

Includes sources published from 1963 to present
Academic Search Ultimate
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.

Advanced Article Search
If you click on the "Article Search" tab, you can search through our journals, magazines, databases, newspapers, and many other sources for information. You can search by keywords, title, subject, author, and many more.