Background and Reference Resources
Issues in Global Business by
Issues in Global Business is a single-volume reference that offers relevant perspectives and explains impacts of current events such as COVID-19, Brexit, and immigration across industries and regions. Topics covered include the on-demand economy, global manufacturing, Bitcoin, data security, and more. Coupled with a comprehensive overview of the business landscape around the world by Dr. Mamoun Benmamoun, an assistant professor at the Boeing Institute of International Business at Saint Louis University, this book provides students with the essential information they need to assess business practices through an international lens.
ISBN: 9781071823187Publication Date: 2021-04-05
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by
"Steele, director of the Fashion Institute of Technology Museum, has crafted, with the help of 325 contributors, an authoritative introduction to fashion, the industry, and the issues that hve defined the field. Some 640 articles describe the colorful facets of couture and textiles, from fabrics of chintz, corduroy, and feathers to such garb as aprons, bikinis, and prison dress. There are color plates and nearly 600 black-and-white illustrations. Back matter includes a comprehensive index, a timeline, and a topical outline."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005.
ISBN: 9780684314518Publication Date: 2004-10-01
Fashion Studies by
The study of fashion has expanded into a thriving field of inquiry, with researchers utilizing diverse methods from across subject disciplines to explore fashion and dress in wide-ranging contexts. With an emphasis on material culture and ethnographic approaches in fashion studies, this groundbreaking volume offers fascinating insights into the complex dynamics of research and fashion.Featuring unique case studies, with interdisciplinary scholars reflecting on their practical research experiences, Fashion Studies provides rich and nuanced perspectives on the use, and mixing and matching of methodological approaches - including object and image based research, the integration of qualitative and quantitative methods and the fluid bridging of theory and practice. Engaging with diverse subjects, from ethnographies of model casting and street-style blogging, wardrobe studies and a material culture analysis of global denim wearing, to Martin Margiela's design and archival methods, Fashion Studies presents complex approaches in a lively and informative manner that will appeal to students of fashion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies and related fields.
ISBN: 1472583167Publication Date: 2016-01-28
Advanced Fashion Technology and Operations Management by
Fashion has been steadily moving from the brick and mortar to the digital market. As such, it is increasingly vital to research new methods that will help businesses to grow and succeed in this new sphere. Advanced Fashion Technology and Operations Management is a pivotal reference source for the latest development management strategies, fashion marketing, international business, and fashion entrepreneurship. Featuring extensive coverage across a range of relevant perspectives and topics, such as online shopping behavior, digital fashion, and e-commerce, this book is ideally designed for professionals, entrepreneurs, students, and researchers.
ISBN: 1522518657Publication Date: 2017-03-30
High Performance Technical Textiles by
An authentic resource for the fundamentals, applied techniques, applications and recent advancements of all the main areas of technical textiles Created to be a comprehensive reference, High Performance Technical Textiles includes the review of a wide range of technical textiles from household to space textiles. The contributors--noted experts in the field from all the continents--offer in-depth coverage on the fibre materials, manufacturing processes and techniques, applications, current developments, sustainability and future trends. The contributors include discussions on synthetic versus natural fibres, various textile manufacturing techniques, textile composites and finishing approaches that are involved in the manufacturing of textiles for a specific high performance application. Whilst the book provides the basic knowledge required for an understanding of technical textiles, it can serve as a springboard for inspiring new inventions in hi-tech fibres and textiles. This important book: Contains a unique approach that offers a comprehensive understanding of the manufacturing and applications of technical textiles Includes a general overview to the fundamentals, current techniques, end use applications as well as the most recent advancements Explores the current standards in the industry and the ongoing research in the field Offers a comprehensive and single source reference on the topic Written for academics, researchers and professionals working in textile and related industries, High Performance Technical Textiles offers a systematic, structured, logical and updated source of information for understanding technical textiles.
ISBN: 9781119325017Publication Date: 2019-04-29
The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Textiles by
The eighth edition of this industry standard for textile terminology is fully revised and expanded featuring approximately 100 new entries and over 14,000 definitions of fibers, fabrics, laws and regulations affecting textile materials and processing, inventors of textile technology, and business and trade terms relevant to textiles. Trademark information has been thoroughly updated to reflect the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office's Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS), and current definitions from the industry associations American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists and American Society for Testing and Materials are included. Fully illustrated with over 400 photographs and line drawings, entries include pronunciation, derivation, definition, and uses. An extensive appendix provides a list of national and internationalindustry associations and organizations. From Abaca to Zyex, The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Textiles contains essential reference information for professionals and scholars involved in the textile industry.
ISBN: 9781609015350Publication Date: 2013-10-24
