Guides: Lexington High School: Databases

Use our A-Z Database List for a full list to see what else might be more helpful for your research. You can narrow down a list of databases based on subjects.

American Memory Project
Database of digitized images, sound recordings, movies, and manuscripts representing American history, life, and culture.
Black Thought and Culture
Written by leaders within the black community, this database includes books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews from authors such as Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, and Booker T. Washington.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA)
Digital archive of US and UK trade magazines, film fan magazines, and music press titles providing comprehensive information on specific films, plays, theaters, actors, directors, TV series, film studios, musicians, genres, record labels, subcultures and youth movements.
Additional topics: movies, cinema, entertainment, vaudeville, silent movies
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Full text biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs of the life stories of Native Americans and Canadian First Peoples.
Women and Social Movements in the US (Scholar's Edition)
An archival collection, focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, includes full-text documents, reviews of books and websites, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Women Writers Online
Full text database of womens writing published between 1526 and 1850 by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University.
Includes sources published from 1600-1830
LGBT Thought and Culture
A wide range of full text materials including books, articles, letters, speeches, interviews, memoirs, biographies, poetry, and fiction illuminating the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community.
Essential content for cultural studies, history, womens and gender studies, political science, American studies, social theory, sociology, and literature.

APA PsycInfo
Premier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Artstor
Digital image collection of leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists covering topics such as architecture, art history, fashion & costume, design, and more. As of August 2024, Artstor is accessed through JSTOR.
Optional: To use Workspace to save and organize content, create a personal JSTOR account using an @ilstu.edu email address.
Web of Science
Searchable database of scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Some full text available. Provides tools for citation alerts, citation reports, and analysis of publication patterns and trends.
Includes some sources published from 1900 to present.
Milner's subscription includes:
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
- Book Citation Index Science (2005-present)
- Book Citation Index Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index Science (1993-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index Social Sciences & Humanities (1993-present)
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
Education Full Text
Full text database includes journals and educational tests covering special education, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
Includes sources published from 1983 to present
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text multi-disciplinary database of reference books, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
SocINDEX
Full text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
CINAHL Ultimate
Full text database of nursing & allied health journals.

Lexington High School

Additional Links