Finding the Full Text of an Article
Let's say you are looking for articles about music therapy treatments for anxiety. Here is an example of how you could search for anxiety and music therapy in CINAHL:
- Enter the main ideas from your topic into the search box. For my example, I'll enter anxiety AND music therapy. Choose Search.
- On the search results page, use the options under the search box to narrow your topic further.
- Choose Peer Reviewed to get only articles reviewed by other experts in the field to make sure they are accurate.
- Change the older date to be more recent, for example last 5 years.
- Choose an article title to find out more about the article and check for Milner Library access to the full text.
Find Out More About the Article
The information in the middle tells you more about the article, including:
- The authors
- The title, volume, and issue of the journal it is from
- Subjects covered in the article.
- An abstract at the bottom of the page that provides a summary of the article.
Access the Full Text
- The left side of page shows options for accessing the full text of the article through Milner Library.
- See the Access Full Text tab of this box for more details about how to get the full text of an article.
Get a Link to View the Article Later and See Sample Citations
The right side of the article page has some helpful tools including:
- Add to Folder: Choose the folder icon. In EBSCO databases like CINAHL, you can create a free EBSCO account that you can use to save search results to your folder. In ProQuest databases like Music Periodicals Database, you can create a free My Research account to save search results to your folder.
- Email: Choose the arrow icon and select Email in the popup box. Email the page to yourself so you can view the article later.
- Permalink: Choose the arrow icon, select Create Link under Share, and choose "copy to clipboard" to get a URL that will always take you back to the article. NOTE: In EBSCO databases, the URL in the browser URL box should also get you back to your article now!
- Cite: Choose the " icon. This generates example citations for the article in a variety of citation styles. You always need to double check these against the style guide for your citation style to make sure they are correct.
At the top of the article page, there are options for accessing the article through Milner Library on the left. These may be hidden on mobile devices so you will need to choose the tiny double arrow tab to reveal them.
If there is full text through the database you are searching, there will be PDF Full Text and download PDF links.
If there are no full text links in an EBSCO database like CINAHL, choose the Access options dropdown and select the Full text via LibKey Link option to see if it is available through any other Milner databases.
If LibKey finds full text access through another Milner database or other subscription resource, it will show a LibKey page with options to download the PDF and access the article page in the subscription resource that has it.
If LibKey can't find full text access through Milner, it will instead provide a Find It page for the item.The Find It page will may sometimes have other online access links or a listing of Mlner's print volumes of the journal the article is in. If there isn't online or print access in Find It, choose Sign in in the yellow box that says "Please sign in to check for any request options."
When you choose Sign In next to it and login with your ULID and password, it should give you a link to request the article via interlibrary loan (ILL).
Interlibrary Loan allows you to send a request for an article to our Interlibrary Loan staff. If they can find a copy of the article, you will get a PDF of it in your ILL account. This may take 5-7 days but articles often come much sooner.
Accessing Articles
This page provides information to get you started with searching for articles, including:
- Search for articles: An example search showing how to choose the date range for your articles and narrow to only peer reviewed articles.
- View Article Info: Tells how to find more information about your article and save your article so you can view it again later.
- Access Full Text: Shows different options for accessing the full text of an article through a database and via Find It.