Skip to main content

Special Education: Home

Finding Articles

Education Full Text

Provides full-text of articles from as far back as 1996 and indexes over 750 journals back to 1983. With in-depth coverage of special education and cross-references for over 100,000 educational tests, this database also provides emphases on adult education, multicultural education and teaching methods.

The ERIC Database
ERIC is available in several different interfaces. There is no "best" interface, and both have unique features. How are ERIC documents cited using APA?  See Example 

ERIC (EBSCO interface)
The EBSCO interface emphasizes key word searching.  EBSCO allows users to search more than one database at a time, so another strategy you might want to try is to click on "Choose Databases" and add Academic Search Complete and Education Abstracts (or even CINAHL) to your search.  Remember than you must rely on key words (as opposed to subject headings) if you are searching across databases.

ERIC (OVID interface)
 The OVID interface makes it easier to identify subject headings, and it allows unlimited "boolean searching."

Academic Search Complete
A large, interdisciplinary databaseIf you are looking for a very specific term, you might want to use the drop box to search "all text."  Remember, however, that Academic Search Premier can only search the full text of certain journals that it has full text rights to.  Since it does have rights to many education  journals, this can be a very powerful search.  It can also result in a large number of "false drops" if the term you type in is one that is commonly used.

Another potentially useful feature of Academic Search Complete is that sometimes you can see other articles that have cited an article.  The search is not comprehensive because it only includes citations located in the Academic Search Complete database, but it is still useful.  For more comprehensive searches of cited articles, use Web of Science or Google Scholar.

Web of Science
This database is well-known as a citation analysis tool. Keep in mind that WoS is highly selective, which has both advantages and disadvantages.  Although it can be a good way to locate articles in "high impact" journals (journals that meet certain criteria), it does not cover some well-respected education journals. The international focus sometimes is not well-suited for all educational topics.  Also, keep in mind that although you can limit your search to the social sciences, this is basically an interdisciplinary search.

Sage Journals (Sage publisher)
Although not a database in the traditional sense, limiting a search to this relatively small group of journal titles by Sage publishing may be a useful strategy for locating a few citations from some  highly respected journals.  Try using the "Advanced Search by Discipline."  Note that you can "Select from a list of disciplines" or "Select from a complete list of journals."   Also, if you set up an account (which is free), you can create a list of searchable "favorite" journals.  You can also set up alerts to notify you when a particular article is cited.

Dissertations and Theses
Provides access to the full text of doctoral dissertations and masters theses.  For information about locating ISU theses and dissertations, refer to Locating Dissertations and Theses.

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Detailed information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks from the Buros Institute. Provides full text.

Special Education Librarian

Sarah French's picture
Sarah French
Contact:
Milner Library 614D
309-438-7188
DeGarmo 517A