Finding Unpublished Tests
ETS Test Collection Database
- ETS TestLinkUse this database to find descriptions of over 20,000 standardized tests and research instruments from the physical test collection held by ETS (Educational Testing Service). Each item provides directions for obtaining the test or instrument.
Be aware that "downlodable" does not mean free--most instruments cost around $25.
Search for a downloadable test
- Change the drop-down box to Order Information
- Type "downloadable" in the search box
- Click "Search"
- Use the Advanced Search tab to combine the search for a downloadable test with another search parameter.
Limiting to tests available in microfiche
- From the opening Search screen, Click on Advanced.
- In the first dropdown box choose the field you want to search for your topic word (e.g., All Fields). Type your search word in the far right box.
- Next, from TitleSearch box, type TIM in the box and click search. This should give you results available in Tests in Microfiche.
- Ask at the Reference Desk on the main floor for help in retrieving the microfiche.
Books Containing Unpublished Tests and Measures
You might be able to find a list of the instruments included in the book by examining the Table of Contents tab on the Catalog Record. Most records will include information about copyright. Keep in mind that you may need to obtain permission from the copyright holder.
A Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests by Call Number: RC386.6.N48 S67 2006 (Floor 5: Building Use Only)Publication Date: 2006- The Experience of Work byCall Number: HF5549.5.A83 E9 1981 (Floor 4 Shelves)Publication Date: 1981Includes 93 instruments.
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques by Call Number: HQ728 .H267 2001 (Floor 2 Reference: Building Use Only)Publication Date: 2000Includes 168 instruments (see Volume 3).
Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement by Call Number: H62 .M44 2002 (Floor 4 Shelves)Publication Date: 2002
Handbook of Scales for Research in Crime and Delinquency by Call Number: HV9274 .B76 1983 (Storage North: Request Online)Publication Date: 1983Includes 99 instruments.
Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures by Call Number: HQ60 .H36 2020 (Floor 2 Reference: Building Use Only)Publication Date: 2019Includes 225 instruments.
Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences by Call Number: LB3051 .L4543 2000 (Floor 2 Reference: Building Use Only)Publication Date: 2000Includes 125 instruments.
The Measurement of Attitudes Toward People with Disabilities by Call Number: HV1553 .A62 1988 (Floor 4 Shelves)Publication Date: 1988
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research by Call Number: BF176 .C66 2007 (Floor 2 Reference: Building Use Only)Publication Date: 2007Volume 1: Couples, Families, and Children
Volume 2: Adults
See Floor 3 for previous editions.
Emphasis is on rapid assessment. Includes 423 instruments. For a list of instruments by subject, see "Instruments Cross-Indexed by Problem Area," starting on page xxx of each volume.
Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes by Call Number: BF698.4 .M38 1991 (Storage North: Request Online)Publication Date: 1990Includes 112 instruments
The Psychologist's Book of Personality Tests by Call Number: BF698.5 J35 2001 (Floor 3 Shelves)Publication Date: 2000Includes 24 instruments.Sociological Measurement: An Inventory of Scales and Indices by
Call Number: H62 .B66 1967 (Floor 4 Shelves)Publication Date: 1967Includes 25 instruments.- The Sourcebook of nonverbal measures: going beyond words byCall Number: Vol.42 (7), p.42Publication Date: 2005Includes 27 instruments.
Also available in print: Z1035 .C5 (Floor 5 Shelves: Building Use Only)
