Guides: Teaching Materials Center: Children and Young Adult Books

Children and Young Adult Books

To discover general guidance on finding Teaching Materials Center resources on-site and on using the Milner Library Catalog to discover materials online as well as specific strategies and information on how to find particular types of TMC children and young adult books using the Milner Library Catalog, explore the following pages:

Overview
General information on finding TMC books using the Milner Library Catalog and the Dewey Decimal System.
Award Winners
This page lists award-winning children and young adult books since 2019. Click on the name of an award listed on the page to be taken directly to the section for that award.
Bilingual Books
Provides strategies to discover bilingual books and foreign language books as well as some examples of titles.
Diverse Books
Includes guidance on discovering diverse books with popular web tools and the database NoveList Plus. It also provides some examples of diverse children and young adult literature.
Folktales, Fairy Tales & Fables
Provides information on how to find folktales, fairy tales, and fables. Also describes how to discover multiple versions of classic fairytales and nursery rhymes using call numbers, such as Cinderella. Examples are included.
Global Awareness Books
Multicultural children's books can often act as books that help to build global awareness. This page provides search strategies and examples of books that could be used to build global awareness in students.
Graphic Novels
Supplies basic search strategies to discover graphic novels as well as some examples of books included in the collection.
Kid's Books in Braille
Demonstrates how to search for books in braille in the Milner Catalog and provides examples of titles in this limited collection.
Leveled Books
Defines leveled books while also giving three different strategies for discovering leveled books at Milner.
LGBTQIA+ Books
Provides recommended resources to discover LGBTQIA+ literature as well as examples of titles.
Social Emotional Learning Books
Includes recommendations for books aligned with the CASEL Framework for applying evidence-based social and emotional learning strategies.

Teaching Materials Center

Children and Young Adult Books

Additional Links