Skip to Main Content

Teaching Materials Center

This guide is starting point for anyone seeking to learn about the resources available in the Teaching Materials Center. This includes: what general resources are available, how to find specific resources, and how to access materials.

Finding Award Winners

Below are some of the possible awards for authors and illustrators of children's books. If you are interested in finding books that have won a given award, navigate to the page linked for each award to browse award-winners. Then, do a title search in the Milner Library catalog of titles that interest you. Make sure to restrict the location to the Teaching Materials Center using the filters on the right of the screen once you have entered the title. 

Caldecott Medal

The RCaldecott Medalandolph Caldecott Medal, often shortened to the Caldecott Medal, is a medal given to "the most distinguished American picture book for children" in a given year. The award is hosted by the Association for Library Service to Children

2020 Medal Winner

Newberry Medal

The NeNewbery Medalwbery Medal - named for John Newbery - is given annually to the "author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children" by the Association for Library Service to Children. The medal was first awarded in 1922. 

2020 Medal Winner

Coretta Scott King Awards

Coretta Scott Kind Award

The Coretta Scott King Awards are among 30+ annual Youth Media Awards sponsored by the American Library Association. The purpose of the awards is "to encourage the artistic expression of the African American experience via literature and the graphic arts, including biographical, historical and social history treatments by African American authors and illustrators."

2020 Author Winner

2020 Illustrator Winner

2020 John Steptoe Award for New Talent (Author)

Pura Belpré Awards

The Pura Belpré Award The Pura Belpré Award was established in 1996 and is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. Up until 2008, it was awarded biennally. It is now awarded annually as part of ALA's Youth Media Awards, and includes both author and illustrator awards. The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library, known for enriching the lives of Puerto Rican children by preserving and disseminating Puerto Rican folklore.

2020 Author Award Winner 

2020 Illustrator Award Winner

Schneider Family Book Awards

TSchneider Family Book Awardhe Schneider Family Book Awards "honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences." Awards and Honors are presented in three categories: Teen, Middle School, and Young Children's.

2020 Young Children Winner

2020 Middle Grade Winner

2020 Teen Winner

Stonewall Award

Stonewall Book Award

The Stonewall Book Award is a set of three literary awards that annually recognize "exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience" in English-language books published in the U.S. 

More LGBTQIA+ books.

2020 Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s Literature Award

Jane Addams Book Award

SpJane Addams Book Awardonsored by The Jane Addams Peace Foundation, this award recognizes literary and aesthetical excellence in children's books that help children understand and embrace peace, social justice, the global community and equity for all people.

2020 Books for Older Children Winner

2020 Books for Younger Children Winner

The Walter

Presented annually since 2016, The Walter Award, named for Walter Dean Myers, began as a teen category and has since expanded to include a Younger Readers category.

2020​ ​Walter​ ​Award,​ ​Teen​ ​Category

2020​ ​Walter​ ​Award,​ ​Younger​ ​Readers​ ​Category

Teaching and Learning Librarian

Profile Photo
Caitlin Stewart
Milner Library: Office 614C
(309) 438 - 3442