Guides: Teaching and Learning: Scholarly Research

Databases for Research on School Librarianship

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Full text database focused on librarianship (school, academic, public, special), classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and instruction.
Includes sources published from 1966 to present
ERIC (EBSCO)
This ERIC interface emphasizes keyword searching. Premier full text education database includes journal articles, ERIC documents, conference proceedings, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
Education Full Text
Full text database includes journals and educational tests covering special education, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
Includes sources published from 1983 to present
Academic Search Ultimate
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
Professional Development Collection
Full text database for professional educators and includes education journals and reports.
Additional topics: continuing education, curriculum
MasterFile Complete
Full text multi-disciplinary database includes journals, magazines, primary source documents, reference books, videos and digital images.
Includes sources published from 1975 to present
APA PsycInfo
Premier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Top School Librarianship Journals

School Library Journal
The world's largest reviewer of books, multimedia and technology for children & teens
School Library Research
"Covers topics related to the management, implementation and evaluation of school library programs." [from source]
School Library Monthly
"Content supports K-12 school librarians as they plan instruction collaboratively with teachers. It helps strengthen information literacy skills, inquiry and the research process and encourages the use of a variety of resources." [from source]
Teacher Librarian
"Articles, review articles and commentary on management and programming issues for library professionals." [from source]
Knowledge Quest
Offers "substantive information to assist building-level school librarians, supervisors, library educators, and other decision makers concerned with the development of school libraries and school library services. Articles address the integration of theory and practice in school librarianship and new developments in education, learning theory, and relevant disciplines." [from source]
The Reading Teacher
The most popular journal for educators of literacy learners up to age 12 offering high-quality, evidence-based teaching tips and ideas plus the teacher perspective.

Finding Books on School Librarianship

Call Number Range	Subject
Z675.S3	School Libraries
Z682.4.S34	School Librarians
Z689.8 S36	School Libraries -- Acquisitions

If you use the linked call number range searches, they will only display physical books, not e-books. To see e-books you should create your own keyword search.

Teaching and Learning

Databases for Research on School Librarianship

Top School Librarianship Journals

Finding Books on School Librarianship

Additional Links