Scholarly / Peer-reviewed
A scholarly journal article, sometimes called a research or peer-reviewed article, is written by scholars and experts in a particular subject field. Your professors are scholars in the discipline they teach.
An article is part of a collection of articles in a publication called a scholarly journal. Because these articles are written by experts for other experts, they contain technical and specialized vocabulary (jargon).
Page Sections
- Peer Review Process
- Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (interactive image)
- Plain Text of Interactive Image
- Characteristics of a Scholarly Article
Peer Review Process
A scholar prepares an article and submits it to a journal. A review process, known as peer review, requires submitted articles to be reviewed by other scholarly peers (or equals) to determine if an article should be published. When it works properly, the peer review process should ensure that only high-quality articles are published in a journal.
- Types of Articles Comparison ChartCompare differences between scholarly, trade, popular, and news articles.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Click on the bubbles below to learn about the different parts of a scholarly article. View the plain text of the image further down the page.
Plain Text of the Anatomy of a Scholarly Article Interactive Image
Article Title
Article titles are usually descriptive, acting as a very short summary of the article's contents. In your search results, scan the titles to identify potential articles to use. More matching words usually indicate a match to your topic but not always.
Author
The author or authors are usually listed below the title. Their credentials (qualifications) and institutional affiliations (where they work) will be listed somewhere on the article. An author's credentials can help you determine whether an article is credible.
Abstract
An abstract is a summary of an article (usually under 250 words). It presents the authors' research question(s), an outline of their study or experiment, and their findings or conclusions. Read this first to determine relevance to your topic.
Introduction
An article's introduction provides background about the topic the authors explored, the research question(s), and the relevance or importance of those question(s).
Body (parts 1 and 2)
The core of the article content that provides context for the research question, explains how the authors approached the question, and what they found. The Body typically is divided into sections like Literature Review (highlights related research), Methods (details of the study or experiment), Results (explains the findings), and Discussion (explores the implications of the findings).
Conclusion
The conclusion restates and summarizes the authors' findings and suggestions for future research. TIP: read the conclusion before you read an entire article. The summary will help you decide if the article is relevant for your project.
References
When you're reading an article, you may notice the authors citing the work of others. Any works that are cited in the text of the article will be listed in the References section. You can use the References section to find the authors' sources and read more information on your topic.
Characteristics of Scholarly Articles
What is the purpose?
To inform, report, and show original research, experimentation, and thought
Why use them?
To support your own research, opinion, hypothesis, writing, etc.
Who is it for?
The reader is assumed to have a similar scholarly background
Who writes the article?
Written by researchers and scholars
Who reviews the article?
Articles go through strict review process by peers within the discipline / subject
What type of language or writing is used?
These articles rely heavily on unique terminology, jargon, and language specific to the discipline
Are other sources and cited?
Sources are always cited as footnotes, endnotes, or reference lists (bibliographies)
Are images and advertising included?
Graphs, charts, and illustrations related to the research are used; typically no advertising but when used it is very selective
How often are issues of articles published?
Varies greatly and can range from monthly to bi-monthly to quarterly
Article Comparison Table (text)
| Scholarly Journals | Trade Publications | General Interest Magazines | Newspapers | Popular Magazines | Sensational Magazines | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Purpose | To show and discuss original research and experimentation. | Gives practical information to working professionals; showcases leaders/trends. | Provides topic-specific information to a general, educated audience. | Provides current news & special topics e.g. travel, book reviews | Provides information to a general audience, may be topic specific, e.g. sports. | Carries little authority; intends to shock readers. |
| Why Use Them? | Often required for course project and research. Lends credibility to your own ideas and hypotheses. | Useful for doing an analysis of a particular industry, applying for a job, or preparing for an interview. | Good for identifying potential topics for a research project as well as identifying current or hot issues. | Good for identifying potential topics and getting a snapshot of issues at time articles were published. | Good for identifying current cultural norms, trends, and events at the time articles were published. | Only useful if research project is related to this form of publishing and writing. |
| Authors | Written by and for scholars or researchers in a specific discipline. | Specialists or practitioners in a particular field or industry. | The magazine's staff, a field expert, or a freelance writer/journalist. | Staff reporters and columnists. | Staff columnists. | Staff writers. |
| Sources/Citations | Always cited as footnotes, endnotes, or reference lists (bibliographies). | Sources are mentioned within an article but rarely formally cited. | Sources are mentioned within an article and occasionally cited formally. | If used, sources are mentioned in an article but not formally cited. | If used, sources are mentioned in an article but not formally cited. | Rarely any mention of specific sources. |
| Language | Uses discipline-specific terminology, jargon, & language. | Uses jargon specific to to a particular field or industry. | Uses formal language and some discipline-specific jargon. | Uses general, everyday language. | Uses general, everyday language. | Inflammatory, sensational style yet very simple language. |
| Review Process | Go through a strict review process by peers. | Minimal review by editorial staff and rarely by peers. | Minimal review by editorial staff. | Reviewed by editorial staff. | Minimal review by editorial staff. | Minimal review, if any. |
| Audience | Reader is assumed to have a similar scholarly background. | Written for practicing professionals. | For a broad, educated readership. | For a broad audience. | For a broad audience. | For a broad audience. |
| Graphics | Contains graphs, charts, and photographs specific to the research but seldom graphic art. | Illustrations are charts, graphs, and photographs relevant to the article; some graphic art. | Photographs, illustrations, and graphs are used to enhance the overall publication. | Some images when relevant to a story. | Photographs and images are used heavily. | Photographs and images are used heavily, though often altered. |
| Publishers | Most often published by a professional organization or specialty publishing company. | Often published by professional organizations relevant to a particular field or industry. | Generally published by commercial enterprises for profit. | Published by commercial enterprises for profit. | Published by commercial enterprises for profit. | Published by commercial enterprises for profit. |
| Advertising | Typically none or small amounts of selective advertising. | Advertising is relevant to the profession or industry. | Advertising appeals to a broad readership. | Advertising appeals to a broad readership. | Significant amounts and appeals to a broad audience. | Advertising often reflects the style of the publication. |
| Examples | Behavioral Neuroscience, Journal of Economics | American Grocer, Aviation Week | Psychology Today, Scientific American | Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal | Vogue, Sports Illustrated | National Enquirer, Star |
Instruction and Student Engagement Department, Milner Library, Illinois State University
This image is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.