Using Reference Sources
What is a Reference Source?
The video below gives a quick overview of what references sources are and why they might be useful for research.
Finding Reference Resources
List of Databases:
This is a list of Milner's databases that collect electronic reference sources. The subsequent tabs list specific reference titles that relate to criminal justice topics. If you need assistance searching within these databases, check out the Searching in a Database box or the How To pages.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFull text multi-disciplinary database of reference books, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium CollectionMulti-disciplinary compilation of reference sources and includes full text articles, definitions, and quotations. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- Sage KnowledgeIncludes ebooks and video covering all aspects of the social sciences such as education, media, communication, cultural studies, counseling, psychotherapy, business, management, politics, international relations, psychology, sociology, criminology, and criminal justice.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by
It started with Cain and Abel, and it won’t end with the Sopranos. Our fascination with transgression and its punishment is universal. And now, from Sage – the publisher of criminal justice abstracts and other standards in the field – comes the ultimate reference source on this all-consuming subject: comprehensive, authoritative, up-to-the second. Comprehensive and balanced coverage of: Concepts and theories Correction Law Crimes Methods and statistics National surveys Organizations Police science Social and cultural context Features and benefits:
ISBN: 9781412950664Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Law and Society by
The Encyclopedia of Law and Society is the largest comprehensive and international treatment of the law and society field. With an advisory board of 62 members, from 20 countries across six continents, the three volumes of this state-of-the-art resource represent interdisciplinary perspectives on law from sociology, criminology, cultural anthropology, political science, social psychology and economics. By focusing globally, the Encyclopedia of Law and Society offers a greater understanding of American law and society within its historical and comparative context. Key features include: - more than 700 entries that are biographical, historical, comparative, topical, thematic and methodological; - a rich diversity of European, Latin American, Asian, African and Australasian legislative developments; - a unique mulit-volume resource revealling the truly holistic, interdisciplinary virtues of law and society today. Key themes include: - biographies in law and society; - law and society activities in regions and countries; - law and society methodology and research; - demography of law; - sociology of law; - anthropology (ethnology) of law; - law and economics; - law and politicial science; - psychology and law; - criminology; - legal subjects. Special Introductory Offer Price: 190.00 GBP (offer expires end February 2007).
ISBN: 9780761923879Publication Date: 2007-07-10
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement by
Although there is a plethora of studies on crime and punishment, law enforcement is a relatively new field of serious research. When courts, sentencing, prisons, jails, and other areas of the criminal justice system are studied, often the first point of entry into the system is through police and law enforcement agencies. Unfortunately, understanding of the important issues in law enforcement has little general literature to draw on. Currently available reference works on policing are narrowly focused and sorely out-of-date. To this end, a distinguished roster of authors, representing many years of knowledge and practice in the field, draw on the latest research and methods to delineate, describe, and analyze all areas of law enforcement. This three-volume Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement provides a comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages. This work is a unique reference source that provides readers with informed discussions on the practice and theory of policing in an historical and contemporary framework. The volumes treat subjects that are particular to the area of state and local, federal and national, and international policing. Many of the themes and issues of policing cut across disciplinary borders, however, and several entries provide comparative information that places the subject in context. Key Features * Three volumes cover State and Local, Federal, and International law enforcement * More than 250 contributors have composed over 400 essays on all facets of law enforcement * An editorial board of the leading scholars, researchers, and practitioners in the field of law enforcement * Descriptions of United States Federal Agency law enforcement components * Comprehensive and inclusive coverage, exploring concepts and social and legal patterns within the larger topical concern * Global, multidisciplinary analysis Topics Covered * Agencies, Associations, and Organizations * Civilian/Private Involvement * Communications * Crime Statistics * Culture/Media * Drug Enforcement * Federal Agencies/Organizations * International * Investigation, Techniques * Investigation, Types of * Investigative Commissions * Law and Justice * Legislation/Legal Issues * Military * Minority Issues * Personnel Issues * Police Conduct * Police Procedure * Policing Strategies * Safety & Security * Specialized Law Enforcement Agencies * Tactics * Terrorism * Victims/Witnesses
ISBN: 9780761926498Publication Date: 2004-12-15- Encyclopedia of murder & violent crime by
This comprehensive single-volume encyclopedia contains a wealth of material on killing and other violent behavior, as well as detailed information on a host of criminal cases from local decisions to Supreme Court rulings. The Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime includes nearly 500 entries that range from Antisocial Personality Disorder and the Beltway Snipers to the infamous Zodiac Murders. Entries take several formats, including: substantial essays on criminal terms, pathologies, and criminal justice concise case studies of serial murderers, infamous crimes, and their investigations relatively brief definitions of relevant legal and criminological terms.
ISBN: 9781412950619Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities by ISBN: 9780761927310Publication Date: 2004-12-15
Dictionary of the Social Sciences by
The Dictionary of the Social Sciences is a comprehensive reference work with over 1700 entries ranging from fifty to five hundred words covering topics such as anthropology, sociology, economics, political science, cultural studies, human and cultural geography, and Marxism.The Dictionary is aimed at students and scholars who need ready access to defined terms in a social science outside of their immediate area of expertise, for example an economist needing information regarding a political science term.The question 'What are the social sciences?' is one to which no final answer can be given, since - like other groupings of scientific and academic fields - the social sciences differ in their scope from one generation to another. There are also within-generation differences: witness the continuingcontroversies over whether history should be considered as one of the social sciences or as a humanistic discipline; whether geography is an independent social science or a synthetic discipline that draws upon both the social sciences and the earth sciences; whether law is a social science or a bodyof professional and philosophical knowledge; whether psychology belongs with the social or the natural sciences; and whether psychiatry is a social science or a branch of medicine. While the proposed dictionary will reflect the contemporary concerns of the editors, entries will certainly representsocial anthropology, economics, political sciences, sociology, and statistical methodologies. The Dictinary will necessary avoid a thorough overview of these disciplines - the criteria for inclusion will limit entries to those topics in each area that will be of interest to trans-disciplinary users.A thematically organized bibliography will also be included.'Craig Calhoun is a superb choice as editor in chief. He is a fine scholar, with exceptionally wide-ranging interests in all the social sciences. What's more, he is tied into various "invisible colleges" and cognitive networks that transcend his own primary interest in sociology. I believe that youhave hit upon a prime prospect.'- Robert Merton, University Professor Emeritus, Columbia University'I do not know Craig Calhoun personally, but his career suggests he is certainly competent and well-connected. Yes, I do recommend publication.'- David L. Sills
ISBN: 9780195123715Publication Date: 2002-05-02
A Dictionary of Law Enforcement by
A Dictionary of Law Enforcement is the only dictionary available with a primary focus on UK law enforcement terms. Succinct and practical in its approach, it contains over 3,400 entries covering ever aspect of this diverse field, including terms related to law, pathology, forensic medicine,accountancy, insurance, shipping, commerce and trade, criminology, and psychology. Entries are supported by a wealth of practical information, including (where appropriate) citations and references to statutes and legislation.In addition to the definitions, the dictionary also contains five useful appendices: Abbreviations and Acronyms, Recordable Offences, Disclosure Code, Disclosure Guidelines and Disclosure Protocol..Written by two former police officers, both now lecturers in law and criminal investigation, the dictionary fills a significant gap in the law market and will be invaluable to police officers and trainee officers, students and lecturers of criminology, criminal justice, and police studies, and otherprofessionals needing clear definitions of law enforcement terms.
ISBN: 9780192807021Publication Date: 2007-12-18
