This section of the guide highlights specific resources that may be helpful to criminal justice research. Each page includes lists of databases, journals, books or other helpful sources.
- Recommended Databases: this page includes a list of databases that collect scholarship and other resources related to criminal justice issues. Each database has a description of the type of content it covers. The list includes general CJS databases, as well as those that collect on more specific content or formats. Clicking on one of the links will take you to that database's search page where you can begin looking for content.
- Recommended Journals: this page lists some of the top journals that collect articles on criminal justice topics. This page can be useful to get an idea of commonly cited journals, or if you want to start your search from one specific title. Clicking on a journal will take you to Milner's catalog record for the title. From there, you will see the library's access to each journal and a link taking you to to the search page.
- Recommended Books: This page describes the general areas of the library where you can find criminal justice books. This page also describes how to read a call number so that you can locate that material.
- Reference Resources: This page lists the reference databases that collect information relating to Criminal Justice. There is also a description of what reference resources are and the unique information that can be found in reference sources.
- Open and Accessible Materials: This page lists information on how to find open access materials relating to Criminal Justice. There is section dedicated to finding open access journals and articles and another section that includes information on finding other open and accessible materials.
- Faculty Resources: This page lists commonly used material for faculty.
- Statistical Sources: This page lists site and other resources to help you find statistics and data relating to Criminal Justice topics.
- Law Enforcement Exam Practice Materials: This page details several resources to help you prepare for policing exams. Milner has several electronic options for study materials. There is also a description of how to request print materials.
If you need more general help finding sources, check out How To pages.
If you have questions about anything in this section, or need more assistance finding what you need, please don't hesitate to reach out. You can find my contact information on the right side of the page.