Skip to Main Content

EndNote Basic

EndNote Basic is a web-based program that allows you to organize your sources (articles, books, images, etc.), cite the sources while you write a paper, and prepare bibliographies.

Adding Sources to Your EndNote Library

Several databases, including the Milner Catalog, Articles Search, and Combined Search, offer the option to export directly into EndNote Basic. View the PubMed video for specific instructions.

  1. Search for and select/mark sources within the chosen database
  2. From the selected/marked list, choose the export option
  3. Then choose the options for 'Export to EndNote Basic' (or EndNote Online or EndNote Web)
  4. EndNote Basic will be launched and you will be prompted to log in if not already
  5. Once logged in, the sources will automatically import
  6. Navigate to My References and add the Unfiled References to a designated group

No direct export option? Try exporting an RIS/tab-limited file.

PubMed Example - Direct Export

To capture a source that is not part of a database, use the Reference Capture button.

  1. If you have not already done do, add the Reference Capture button to your browser.
    1. Log into EndNote Basic
    2. Click the Downloads tab
    3. On the Downloads page, drag the Capture Reference button to your Bookmarks toolbar (also known as Favorites).
      You may need to right-click and select Add to Favorites or Bookmark This Link.
  2. When viewing a web page or database record, click the Capture button.
  3. If not logged in, you will be prompted to log into EndNote Basic.
  4. A Capture New Reference window will open.
  5. Finish filling out the form (as needed) such as selecting source type and a group.
  6. Click the Save to button.
    Make sure my.endnote.com is selected
  1. Within Google Scholar, conduct a search
  2. Click the Cite button (quotation marks) under the article you want to import
  3. In the popup window, chose EndNote
  4. Save the file to your computer
  5. Log into EndNote Basic
  6. Click the Collect tab and then Import References
  7. Choose EndNote Import and the group to add the article to
  8. Click the Browse button to select the file (scholar.enw)
  9. Click the Import button

Occasionally, it is necessary to add a source manually into EndNote Basic.

  1. Log into EndNote Basic
  2. Select the New Reference link in the Collect tab
  3. Add the relevant information into the appropriate fields of the Reference form
    Note: pay specific attention to the reference type and group fields
  4. Click the Save button

For more information about available reference types and associated fields, visit the Reference Types help page.

When a direct export into EndNote Basic isn't available, you can usually save your sources in a generic format that will import.

  1. Search for and select/mark sources within the chosen database
  2. From the selected/marked list, export the sources either as an RIS or tab-delimited file
  3. Within EndNote Basic, select the Import link under the Collect Tab
  4. From the Import Option drop down menu, select the Refman RIS
  5. If desired, select a group from the To drop down menu
  6. Click the Browse button to find and select the export file containing your sources
  7. Click the Import button

For more information on Importing Tab-delimited files, view this help page

Several database vendors provide specific filters for exporting, view this list of vendors for more specific instructions.

From within EndNote Basic you can search, the Milner Catalog, the I-Share Catalog, and the PubMed database.

  1. Click the Online Search from the Collect tab.
  2. In the connection file drop-down list, select the catalog or database.*
    Milner Catalog: Illinois State U
    I-Share Catalog: I-SHARE
    Pubmed: PubMed (NLM)
  3. Click the Connect button.
  4. Enter the search phrase in the Search Criteria field.
  5. Select a field in the Search Field drop-down list to limit the search to a specific field.
  6. Add more search criteria if needed.
  7. Click the Search button.
  8. Once the search results are displayed, check a source and select a group from the Group drop down menu

*Add these to your Connection File Favorites list for ease of access.

Ask me for help

Profile Photo
Jennifer Sharkey