Getting Started
EndNote Basic (also called EndNote Online) is a web-based program that allows you to organize your sources (articles, books, images, etc.), cite the sources while you write a paper, and prepare bibliographies. Creating an account is free to to ISU students, faculty, and staff.
Benefits of EndNote Basic (Online):
- Add references directly from Web of Science and other online databases.
- Access and use at any time and anywhere you have Internet access.
- Organize references in groups or categories.
- Create formatted reference lists in a variety of publishing styles.
- EndNote online essentials (video by Clarivate)In this hour long video training video, you will get an overview of how to use EndNote Basic, including adding sources and using the Cite While You Write plug-in.
Mobile Version
Access the mobile version at https://www.myendnoteweb.com/touch/EndNoteWeb.html.
EndNote Desktop
The University doesn't have a site license to EndNote Desktop and Milner is unable to provide support for the desktop app.
Clarivate provides a wide variety of help resources for EndNote Desktop and we encourage you to consult them for any questions you have.
- Training & Support site: includes access to videos, recorded webinars, and self-guided courses
- Knowledge Base: the searchable site includes articles and a submit help ticket feature
- YouTube: provides an extensive list of training videos
From the EndNote Website
- Access EndNote Basic at https://access.clarivate.com/login?app=endnote
- Click the Register button
Note: if you have a Web of Science account, you already have access to EndNote Basic - Complete the required fields and check 'I Agree to the service agreement'
- Once your account is created, go directly to https://access.clarivate.com/login?app=endnote to manage your sources, build bibliographies, etc.
Through Web of Science
- Go to the Web of Science/Web of Knowledge database via Milner's web site
- When prompted, log in with Central Login (your ISU username and password)
- At the top of the page, click the EndNote link
Note: if you have a Web of Science account, you already have access to EndNote Basic - Click the Register button
- Complete the required fields and check 'I Agree to the service agreement'
- Once your account is created, go directly to https://access.clarivate.com/login?app=endnote to manage your sources, build bibliographies, etc.
- Web of ScienceSearchable database of scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Some full text available. Provides tools for citation alerts, citation reports, and analysis of publication patterns and trends.
