Map Collection at Milner Library

SimplyAnalytics -- a software product providing web-based mapping capabilities utilizing extensive demographic, business and marketing data.

Sanborn Maps of Illinois, 1867-1970.  historical images of locations, with emphasis on buildings

Masterfile:  database containing many maps

David Rumsey Map Collection

SimplyAnalytics

   SimplyAnalytics -- a software product providing web-based mapping capabilities utilizing extensive demographic, business and marketing data.  A tool that requires a far less intensive learning curve than the more powerful ESRI suite of GIS software. A personal account is required in order to Save your work on the central server. 

Scribble Maps

  Scribble Maps allows you to create quick maps with pins, highlighting, and annotations. It also allows you to use lines to calculate distances.

Gazetteers

• United States Board on Geographic Names
  Database of millions of physical and cultural geographic features in the U.S.
  For non-US geographic features, use GEOnet Names Server.
• U.S. Gazetteer Files
  This database, from the U.S. Census Bureau, is searchable by name, state abbreviation, or zip code and contains geographic information, maps, and census data.

Maps

   General

• The National Atlas of the United States of America
  The National Atlas is intended to provide a comprehensive, map-like view into the enormous wealth of data collected by the Federal Government.
• The Atlas of Canada
  A collection of maps and related information about Canada.
• National Geologic Map Database
• A standardized archive of national geologic data with innovative interfaces -- browse by stratigraphic feature or by regional map views.
• National Geographic Maps
  National Geographic's guide for maps and geography
• The David Rumsey Collection
  The historical map collection has over 27,800 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
• Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
  A large collection of online maps from The University of Texas at Austin.
• Sanborn Maps of Illinois (1867-1970)
  Historical maps of Illinois used for locating buildings. Detailed historical maps of Illinois from the Sanborn Company. Images can be enlarged online to view detail. Provides full image content. The dates of coverage vary from city to city. For Normal, the only date listed is April 1885. However, Normal is covered in the Bloomington maps after 1885. For Bloomington (and Normal), the dates of maps are August 1886, January 1892, July 1896, June 1901, 1907 and sporadically from 1908 to 1950.
• OpenStreetMap
  Crowd-sourced free world map showing local information.

   Historical

• Early World Maps
  A collection of early maps showing the evolution of both discoveries and cartographic techniques.
• Library of Congress, American Memory: Map Collections: 1500-2004
  Focusing on Americana and "cartographic treasures," this large collection of maps covers the 16th century to the present day.
• New York Public Library digital map collection
  The Lionel Pincus & Princess Firyal Map Division provides more than 20,000 public domain historical cartographic works as high resolution downloads.
• NOAA Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map and Chart Collection 
  A wide variety of maps and charts from the late 1700s to the present.
• Atlas of Historical County Boundaries.
  The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia.
• Historical National Boundaries.
  Historical National Boundaries displays global national boundaries for the following dates in history: 1800, 1914, 1918, 1939, 1945, 1970, 1990, 2000.

Local (Illinois)

• Illinois Department of Transportation - Mapping Information
  Highway maps, railroad maps, bicycle maps, future plans, and statistical data.
• Illinois Topographic Map index an image showing the 7.5 Minute quadrangles.

Topographic

• What is a Topographic Map?
  U.S. Geological Survey site with basics on topographic maps.
• TopoZone
  A variety of maps for recreational and professional topographic map users.
• Anyplace America.
  Provides topographic maps for locations and geological features.
• Illinois Topographic Map index an image showing the 7.5 Minute quadrangles.

   Thematic/Alternative/Humorous

•  Mapping Views that Explain the World
  Washington Post article about World Views as shown by selected maps
• Mapping Stereotypes
  Humorous look at global impressions by Alphadesigner (Yanko Tsvetkov)

Photos & Images

• National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Photo Library
  This collection includes images of severe storms and clouds, and historic pictures from the National Weather Service.
• David Rumsey Map Collection - historical maps

Remote Sensing

• Fundamentals of Remote Sensing - Introduction
  The basics on remote sensing technology and its applications.
• Remote Sensing Tutorials
  This tutorial, from the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing and Observation, serves as a primer for new users and a teaching tool for the educational community. It provides a detailed understanding of the utility of the data in light of the fundamental principles of electromagnetic energy, especially as they relate to the sensor deign and function.

Weather and Climate

• Environmental Protection Agency site.
  Includes information concerning climate, emissions, impacts, and more.
• GreenHouse Gas Online
  The primary aim of GreenHouse Gas Online is to provide a freely available and up-to-date resource dedicated greenhouse gas news and scientific publications.
• NASA's Global Climate Change
  This resource provides descriptions of Earth science data sets and services relevant to global change research.
• National Weather Service
  Links to latest U.S. weather information, climate statistics and historical archives.
• Recent U.S. Snowfall and Snow Depth Maps
  Links to latest 1, 2, 3 and 7 day records, plus current snow depths.
• Weather.com
  Forecasts and maps for the world.

General Geography Resources

• CIA World Factbook
  This resource from the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) compiles a variety of information about countries, including geography, people, government, and economy.
• U.S. Census Bureau -- Geographies.
  The Census Bureau conducts nearly one hundred surveys and censuses every year. Includes population, housing, economic, and geographic information. You can download data, create thematic maps, or reference maps.
• Degree of Confluence Project
  The goal of the project is to visit each of the latitude and longitude integer degree intersections in the world and to take pictures at each location. The pictures and stories are posted on this website.
• National Technical Information Service (NTIS). 
  NTIS is the federal government's central source for scientific, technical, engineering, and related business information.
• Science.gov
  Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.

Additional WWW Resources

   Manipulating Data 

• BatchGeo - free tool that geocodes addresses and maps points.
• Community Walk - free tool that geocodes addresses and maps points.

 COMMERCIAL PRODUCTS

• Map Dealers